Last of the planting, I hope

Today I decided to do an over haul on the potted plants that were hanging around the porch. Well, not hanging exactly. They stand on the rail and sometimes the wind knocks them off and sometimes I forget to water them and sometimes we have to set them down so the storm doesn’t get them, and they are all a mismatch of pots, and I had enough. I also wanted to put a geranium into one of my mother’s old pots to give to my sister Melissa.

Work in progress. I trimmed up some kalanchoes, and transplanted others that were ready to go on their own.

Work in progress. I trimmed up some kalanchoes, and transplanted others that were ready to go on their own.

I put a peper plant into the old tea pot, and the green pot is the geranium for Melissa.

I put a pepper plant into the old tea-pot, and the green pot is the geranium for Melissa.

Kathy took a pot earlier, and I keep forgetting to ask Adrienne if she would like one. They were stored in the shop and in her laundry room, and I was tired of having them just take up space when they could be used for something worthwhile. Oh yes, I have used several for myself, so if anyone wants what is left, they are more than welcome to grab them. Here is some of what I have done today. I am thinking it makes the whole yard look a bit better, and except for the fact that I will be cleaning my fingernails for the rest of the day, it was worth the effort.

The big issue in cleaning the area is that all of the little containers that I have been gathering now have a plant in them. They are boxed and ready for the big sale next Saturday. I am thinking that whatever I can’t sell will go along to Farmers’ Market or be given away at Bible Study in September. I did a few other plantings just to clean things up. James used up the bags of dirt that we bought filling in that ridge left when we pulled out the bricks around the old daisy garden. All those bags are now empty and in the garbage, so that is great. I dumped and put away or filled all the containers that had nothing growing in them. It feels good to have things a bit tidier for a change. Pictures to explain and show off below.

All little plants ready to go on the rummage sale next Saturday.

All little plants ready to go on the rummage sale next Saturday.

I put my red calla lily into two parts and into some glass jars. Hope it doesn't kill it/them.

I put my red calla lily into two parts and into some glass jars. Hope it doesn’t kill it/them.

Long planters where I stuck three geraniums and three begonias to clear out the mismatched pots.

Long planters where I stuck three geraniums and three begonias to clear out the mismatched pots.

The herbs are growing nicely.

The herbs are growing nicely.

Paulina planted these and didn’t really understand that I wanted her to put a different herb into each pot. She sees it now, but still likes how the round container looks. It has parsley and sage and one other herb, but we are not sure if it is rosemary or thyme. We were going for the song effect, but didn’t quite get it. I believe next year, we will find a way to split them, I have so many of those terra-cotta pots with geraniums that will switch to herbs. The basil is really nice, and we are thinking that Sunday night might be a homemade pizza night with fresh basil on it. Yuuummm. I am thinking that some of the sage might find its way into one of the fire pits.

The container of garbage from trimming and throwing.

The container of garbage from trimming and throwing.

I really used to have a hard time trimming and throwing away anything. If a leaf fell off, I would let it root. Not so much anymore. I finally realized that is how I ended up with so many plants. Time to down size. They are nice and all, but the watering is getting crazy, and trying to keep them over the winter is nearly too much. We trip all over them.

I took the pictures below a couple of days ago, but never got them onto the post I did then. On Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, James held a throwing camp for his athletes. He invited other schools in the area, but it ended up just being our own, which worked out really well. A coaching friend of his came from Grand Forks. Larry used to like in Killdeer, and did this camp when Paulina was going into her junior year, and it really helped her. Anyway, on Wednesday I went along and grilled and got lunch ready for all of the campers. On Thursday, Kathy went and did lunch while I stayed home and worked on supper. It was fun, but I forgot to take pictures as I went. I was planning this great food post. Well, it made me realize that at least once a week, I will share something like that because we all had a great time, and figured perhaps it wouldn’t hurt for us to upscale our meals a bit just for ourselves. I even baked bread, which used to be an everyday thing in Linton, and now it is once in a while. Anyway, just wanted to share. Hope you are enjoying the middle of the season whether it is summer or winter for you.

Slowly, but surely the zinnias are coming.

Slowly, but surely the zinnias are coming.

The strawberries are also doing pretty well. I may need to get some paint on those tires.

The strawberries are also doing pretty well. I may need to get some paint and decorations on those tires.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

