Vegetable garden update middle of July

In looking back at my recent post, I see that I have neglected information on the garden. We are doing a few experiments this year, so it might be time to update that. I am curious how things will turn out. So far some of it seems good, but some of it will NOT be repeated in the future. Here are the pictures and I will give the information as we walk through the view.

The corn is growing well in parts. The potatoes are in bloom in the garden way in the background.

The corn is growing well in parts. The potatoes are in bloom in the garden way in the background.

The tomatoes do NOT look too well right now. I have shown the sickly one off to the right. I should replace it, but it is far too late to start one now.

The tomatoes do NOT look too well right now. I have shown the sickly one off to the right. I should replace it, but it is far too late to start one now.

I know that we will NOT be using that fertilizer that I put in initially. I also have not been watering each morning as I normally do. James has done some watering, but not enough in this department. I guess if you are going to do this garden thing, you have to commit to the whole thing. What is the saying? “In for a penny, in for a pound.” Our big experiment was to plant red onions on the outside of the tomatoes and white onions between the tomatoes and peppers then yellow onions on the other side of the peppers. Let’s just say the onions look great, but the rest, not so much.

James turned the cucumbers toward the fence to climb.

James turned the cucumbers toward the fence to climb.

The peppers are flanked by the white onions on the right and the yellow on the left.

The peppers are flanked by the white onions on the right and the yellow on the left.

The cabbage seem to have a thing for the dill, or vice versa not sure. This is from the other angle now the yellow onions are still on the left.

The cabbage seems to have a thing for the dill, or vice versa not sure. This is from the other angle now the yellow onions are still on the left.

I am upset with myself about these beans. I have never planted spinning beans before, and this is one thing I will not do again.

I am upset with myself about these beans. I have never planted spinning beans before, and this is one thing I will not do again.

We are walking through the garden from north to south. The pictures of the peppers was taken from east to west so they are backwards, but the rest are all west to east which is how the garden lays in terms of the house being on the west and the dike on the east. The north part of the garden is weed free and well-kept. The south part of the garden is dill infested, and I don’t like to take chances on pulling some of that out, so those rows look pretty weedy as you can see in the beans.

The peas are nearly to the top of the fence and they are in bloom, hurrah!!

The peas are nearly to the top of the fence and they are in bloom, hurrah!!

First zucchini of the season.

First zucchini of the season.

I chose not to show you the carrots and the beets at this time. Two nights ago, James and I got to work and cleaned the corn, cabbage and carrots. He did the corn and it is spotless for the most part. I did the carrots, but only the really obvious weeds. I left most of the grass because as soon as I started being aggressive with the grass out came some of the carrots. They will just have to grow together for now. It was rather a timely chore as the scripture for next Sunday is a parable from Matthew that is about letting the weeds grow with the wheat and waiting until the harvest to sort it all out. The meaning of that one is that the believers live in the world with the non-believers and in the end God sorts out who goes with God and who goes else where. I am guessing that this little time in the garden will find its way into the message in one form or another.

I mentioned that the cabbage was also up for cleaning. James did most of that, but I helped on the west end after the carrots were semi cleaned. Almost every one of the cabbages has a dill or two growing with it. I tried to count how many cabbage plants are growing and I stopped at 41. I think a few might die in the next day or two if I don’t get out with the water and build up a bit more dirt around them. I may also do some powdering. A few years ago the neighbor lady, who is about as anti pesticide as me, commented that she noticed the ingredients on the containers of powder to have a significant amount of flour. That year I powdered the tomatoes with all-purpose flour to see if it would work against grasshoppers, and it did a great job. My theory is that they couldn’t stand on the plant because of the powder and so went to something they could stand on to eat. I may have to get the powder out for the cabbage and see what happens.

Well that is all for this post. Happy gardening. I am excited to see the onions and the dill doing so well, I am thinking that Farmers’ Market will be on my agenda on Friday.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

