Flower update and new house rules…

I took these pictures yesterday when I was doing and out and about check of all things growing. Most years, I don’t even plant my flowers until after the first weeding of the vegetable garden. This year the flowers were right up there near the beginning of planting. Of course, I have put in a few extras along the way. I replanted some yellow poppies that as far as I know haven’t poked their heads up yet. I suspect that feathery looking things are those poppies, but no real evidence yet. I also planted the sunflowers quite late. Hopefully they do sprout and grow.

The lilies are in full bloom, glad I cleaned them last week.

The lilies are in full bloom, glad I cleaned them last week.

Close up of some peach colored lilies. Big frog loves his spot.

Close up of some peach colored lilies. Big frog loves his spot.

Day lilies at my mom's were a mess, I cleaned them, but forgot to take a new picture, later.

Day lilies at my mom’s were a mess, I cleaned them, but forgot to take a new picture, later.

Close up of the day lily.

Close up of the day lily.

The second calla lily is blooming. They are loving the heat. Hope to find them a good spot when I have to move them inside.

The second calla lily is blooming. They are loving the heat. Hope to find them a good spot when I have to move them inside.

Geranium in the pond is being overrun by morning glories.

Geranium in the pond is being overrun by morning glories.

Love this color of geranium.

Love this color of geranium.

Echinacea still hasn't opened, but frogs love their new home.

Echinacea still hasn’t opened, but frogs love their new home.

Morning glory is just starting to reach for the pole.

Morning glory is just starting to reach for the pole.

Daisy garden looks a bit different. I don't think we will close this off again.

Daisy garden looks a bit different. I don’t think we will close this off again.

 

I keep reading about how everyone replants things like radishes and beans and snow peas so they have a second season. I did that this year with lettuce and radishes and snow peas. So far the radishes are the only plants to pike through. I also put some zinnias and marigolds into the vegetable garden quite late. They are growing, though I am not sure how helpful they will be in attracting pollinators. I think Paulina is on to something about having a small hive of bees in the backyard. However, since she is refusing to learn how to care for them and be the one in charge, it will not be happening. I won’t even take care of a dog for her, so bees, not even close. I am too old to learn those new tricks.

Speaking of learning new tricks, I have posted four new house rules on the fridge. I hope it helps with the pick up around here. They are as follows.

1. If you made the mess, CLEAN IT UP!

2. If you made the dish dirty, put it in the dishwasher.

3. If you wore the clothes, put them in the laundry basket.

4. If you bought it, use it.

That last one is for me. I have this habit of purchasing items, like clothing, craft kits, paint supplies, etc… and I never take it out of the box. If I had all the money in a savings account for items I have bought and never used, we could take the whole family to Disney World for a week. Well, maybe not that bad, but I bet pretty close.

Hope you have a great day and a good weekend. I am heading to an auction sale tomorrow and hopefully don’t break rule #4 too many times.

Temperature in the pool was 70 degrees yesterday.

Temperature in the pool was 70 degrees yesterday.

Last thought: the pool has been PHed. We did it at 11:30 a.m. today and so the filter cannot be run until nearly noon tomorrow. Yes it is getting a bit icky, but this should help with the pressure. Also, we need a new hose if we ever want to backwash again. We very carefully put it on today, clamped it then when we went to add the PH and run the back wash, which is how Melissa said to do it, the hose split in the middle about six feet from the pump. I guess too many years of sun and winters of cold in the shop.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jul 13, 2014 @ 11:22:09

    I think I read the blog posts in the wrong order. 🙂 Now I know what the house rules are! Smiling that the house rules are for you as much as for everyone else.

    Like

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Jul 11, 2014 @ 14:11:15

    What absolutely splendid lilies and daylilies you have there! Summer is obviously in full swing with you now.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

