Lazy day

Today I just can’t get myself motivated. I suppose it is because I was at the office until almost 9 p.m. last night. I went a little late not getting there until almost 10 a.m., but I knew that we had a Council meeting at 7:30 p.m., so I was essentially there for the day. We had Brown Bag Bible study at 11:30 a.m., that is going better and worse than I had expected. Our membership is up and down, and may perhaps have too many ties to the past. I really need to figure out what I am doing at that church that is new or different or just something that is me. Next I tried to work on the bulletin then James called. When I looked at the clock, I realized that if I didn’t get to the Health Care place in a hurry I would miss my chance there. I went and visited with a couple of ladies. It is a challenge to say the least. I am trying to get to know them, but it is hard when you are introducing yourself to some each time you arrive. I guess that is to be expected when they are over 100 years old. After I went back to the church, via a stop at the grocery store for a soda and ice cream drumstick, yee ha!, I finished up the bulletin. I also wrote the article for the local paper in just the nick of time before the Council meeting. So, that day combined with traipsing around Bismarck on Tuesday and whatever I did Monday, I am tired today. The picture of Sophia below sort of describes it for me.

A very tired cat!!

A very tired cat!!

I did get a couple of loads of laundry into the washer and dryer, but it appears there will not be any hanging on the line today, which sort of upsets me. The best days are always those that I am not around, and when I am home the weather does not cooperate. I was going to make a list of what to do, but I decided to just go and do a few random things to see what could be finished.

Spitting rain.

Spitting rain.

I set out to put the spikes in the tomato plants and that is when it began spitting rain at me. As soon as I finished it dried up. You just can’t win, now I am drying out before returning to the garden to finish some of the weeding that needs doing. James worked on the beets again yesterday, and did all of the potatoes. I forgot to take pictures of them.

Putting spikes in the tomato plants now Vic won't eat them.

Putting spikes in the tomato plants inside the can that is around them, now Vic won’t eat them.

Tomatoes are growing.

Tomatoes are growing earlier than usual this year.

I have a shot of the lettuce for you. It has nearly regrown all of the places that I cut on Monday. And we still have two bags in the fridge because I forgot to give any to Victoria. Maybe I can pawn a bag off on my aunt later today.

Lettuce needs cutting again.

Lettuce needs cutting again.

Corn looking for rain.

Corn looking for rain.

Zucchini leaves.

Zucchini leaves.

I think it is interesting how certain plants’ leaves seem to cup to catch the rain when it falls. The two pictures just above have those type of leaves.

Garden south east corner.

Garden south east corner.

Long shot of garden.

Long shot of garden.

From the corner shot, you can sort of see the peas climbing the fence. I can’t believe the changes in the past two weeks. On a day-to-day basis, it doesn’t seem that anything is growing then when you look back at the pictures of early June, you realize that there has been lots of progress. So, the rain has stopped and I am dry, time to get back to pulling some weeds. Maybe later tonight I will share some of the many flower pictures that I took earlier.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessie Stracener
    Jul 10, 2014 @ 16:11:37

    You sound like a busy bee!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

