Morning walk

As long as I am taking a break to post a few items, before I get back to the bulletin and such at the office, I figured I would share a few pictures from the yard this morning. It was soooooo very foggy when I woke this morning that I couldn’t see the house next door. By the time I was up, dressed and outside with the camera, the view was much improved. When it was so damp, I understood why the arthritis was bugging me so much. Here is a shot of the sun out the east door this morning.

Sun over the trees in the fog.

Sun over the trees in the fog.

While I was waiting for Paulina to rise from her slumber so we could do a little walk this morning, I took some garden pictures. It felt so good to get out and do that. I hope that she pushes me to do it more often. I just don’t have the will-power alone, and I know it would make me feel so much better. Besides all of that, my body is going backwards at too great of a rate right now. I need to push hard to get back to where I used to be when I worked out with that silly dog we had. Anyway, here are some of the garden shots.

Checking the upstairs windows for any sign of someone awake.

Checking the upstairs windows for any sign of someone awake.

The corn is spare, but it doesn't look just too bad.

The corn is spare, but it doesn’t look just too bad.

James cleaned this last row yesterday. I need to pull more weeds from the carrots.

James cleaned this last row yesterday. I need to pull more weeds from the carrots.

This is the part of the garden that looks fairly rough. I started weeding on the day it looked to storm. As I was pulling the largest of the weeds, I realized that in a storm, they would take the brunt of the hail. Well, they do need to be taken out and what happens, happens. Hopefully the hail will be small and far between or not at all.

Zinnias are coming up.

Zinnias are coming up.

A marigold, finally.

A marigold, finally.

I am a bit behind on these. James suggested that we follow the pattern of planting a few flowers in the vegetable garden to attract the pollinators. I sure wish that we had been able to transfer the little honey bees out of my mother’s soffit into a hive that could work on the garden, but not knowing anything about bees except that it was not a healthy coexistence for the man staying in the bedroom they were invading, we had to exterminate them. Oh how that broke my heart.

The grass was so dewy that James' tire tracks were still there an hour after he left.

The grass was so dewy that James’ tire tracks were still there an hour after he left.

Cosmos are coming well. This is the earliest I have ever planted them, hope it is a good year of their blooms.

Cosmos are coming well. This is the earliest I have ever planted them, hope it is a good year of their blooms.

This squirrel was playing peek-a-boo as Paulina and I walked by his tree.

This squirrel was playing peek-a-boo as Paulina and I walked by his tree.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melissadalke
    Jul 10, 2014 @ 11:29:58

    Is it fog or the smoke from the forest fire?

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

