Garden work and some harvest

I was able to take the first cutting of lettuce from the garden today. As I was crawling around trying to pull out the weeds growing in the lettuce and cutting at it at the same time, I realized that a good abdominal work out program would be in order to continue doing this gardening. I have never been one to like an “ab” workout, and now I am suffering the consequences. I used to be great at push ups in high school, and it still shows as my arms can go forever at that sort of yard work, but forget the times when you need a strong set of core muscles to hold you in place or help you stand up. Nope in my case, the arms are always called on to do the helping out. Well enough complaining.

A few tips for the garden and some show and tell is in order again. I also took a bit of time to check on the tomatoes and pull the stalks, a bit gently, inside the cages. I have found over the years if I let them try to stay inside the cages on their own, they sneak out and that is when we have cages tipping over in the wind and the rain and the weight of the tomatoes. I am not real happy with the plants this year. I tried a tomato that has a shorter production time, and the plants seem a bit odd to me. I forgot to start any of the Romas, and that has me worried because those are the best flavor for any of the canning that I do. We shall see. I also tried a different fertilizer. I won’t show it because I don’t want to mislead anyone about my results, but it says something about being a “chicken” fertilizer, as in chicken poop. Well, I will go back to the chemical laden fertilizer spikes in the future.

So, I don’t have pictures of the two items written about above, but I do have some things to share, as in show and tell. While I was in the garden pulling weeds out of the carrots, and I ended up with a five-gallon pail full, (I find that I do a better job of weeding if I have a goal, like fill the pail.) it nearly started to rain, so here are the clouds to the south.

Rain clouds coming this way.

Rain clouds coming this way.

I made it inside and onto the porch with a cup of coffee before the rain hit. It wasn’t very much or very long. In fact, it didn’t even refill the water barrel from the roof run off, but that is ok for now. It did water the plants enough for them to have a drink and maybe we will have a bit more later. Here are the flowers that are blooming now. I really enjoy the different seasons of blooms.

Hollyhocks are starting to bloom. They are really short this year.

Hollyhocks are starting to bloom. They are really short this year.

The lilies are just opening up.

The lilies are just opening up.

One red petunia opened up. I wasn't sure they would survive since I bought them late.

One red petunia opened up. I wasn’t sure they would survive since I bought them late.

You can see it is raining.

You can see it is raining.

A view of the little frogs in the rain. The Echinacea is about to bloom.

A view of the little frogs in the rain. The Echinacea is about to bloom.

Gerbera daisy is finally blooming again.

Gerbera daisy is finally blooming again.

This geranium is getting a new home. No more coffee can planters.

This geranium is getting a new home. No more coffee can planters.

Calla lily planted from a bulb. I am so excited that this is blooming. I think it likes the humidity.

Calla lily planted from a bulb. I am so excited that this is blooming. I think it likes the humidity.

As they say in the cartoons, “That’s all folks!”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda zimmermam
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 08:28:21

    I love the news of the garden and plants, etc., but, where is your Sunday sermon?

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

