Best fireworks ever

I am not kidding. We went to little town of Hague, North Dakota last night. They always hold their event the day after July 4, so as not to have competition with surrounding towns. The fireworks went on for 30 to 40 minutes and it was one boom after another. My brother-in-law said they not only line some of the pieces up beside each other, but they wind the fuses together. The people who light it off are trained, certified in pyrotechnics and it is one awesome show. I suppose some would argue that more good could be done with the money spent, but such is the choice of their community. It was all packaged in with live music, a dance afterwards and “refreshments.” The show was precluded with a tribute to the veterans and the first items shot off were done after a reading on each of the wars that the US has been in and the name of a local veteran and when they served. Rather moving. I didn’t have a camera, but I took out the iPad and here are a select few of what I recorded. I just wish that crazy video would work, just have to figure out how to upload that correctly. I video taped one minute of the show just to remind myself. It was so much, I almost couldn’t watch it all at once. Wild!!

Fireworks in Hague.

Fireworks in Hague.

More fireworks.

More fireworks.

It ended with the flag hanging at the end of the street.

It ended with the flag hanging at the end of the street.

Yes, all of this happened right on Main Street of the town. Believe me none of the big cities have anything on this show.

The video if only it worked.

The video if only it worked.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mona
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 09:40:03

    Lucinda, I am married to the guy dressed like Uncle Sam. I can’t tell you how much we as a family love to do this event. We are so grateful for those who gave the ultimate sacrifice to give us freedom. We should never forget those in uniform. Glad you enjoyed the show.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Rachel K.
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 20:53:21

    Thanks so much for your compliments! My family puts on the show in Hague, and its nice to get feed back! If you can believe it the whole thing started off as my dad and uncles making sparkler bombs in the back yard. We are just a family who loves our Nation and celebrating its birthday!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 08:26:02

    It was nice the town had such a long show. We have that here as well. I can see them from my house, but Canada has them every weekend, so I have grown immune to fireworks a bit.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kathy
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 15:54:06

    Glad you enjoyed the fireworks so much! How fun. Happy 4th, Lucinda!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

