July 5, hot, hot, hot

So today it finally feels like July and summer. The pool is open, though it is not really up to code in terms of clean. We haven’t been able to run the pump because the pressure is too high. Hopefully Adie figures out what is wrong. Melissa was pretty sure she knew, but she is in Wishek working at the city pool there, so we are just left to limp along alone. I swear one of these days we are going to just move her here, enough is enough.

The pool is open!

The pool is open!

Birds on the neighbor's barn.

Birds on the neighbor’s barn.

I took the shot above from a distance. Just before I clicked it the birds were swirling around like crazy over there. Something must have been annoying them. I haven’t noticed them doing that before.

I spent an early part of the day in the garden watering the tomatoes and peppers. I am not sure why the shot below turned out so weird. I guess it was the humidity or a fogged up lens or something. Anyway, I was trying to show how I grow my tomatoes and peppers. Each year when I plant them, I put a size 10 tin can around them. The tomatoes are then caged, but the cans seem to help with preventing certain animals from eating the plants. They are also great for watering. I just fill the can, which saves on water and prevents the path from getting wet.

Tomato row.

Tomato row.

Tomato cage close up.

Tomato cage close up.

I have found that by saving the cans from year to year, it is better for the plants because they rust and lose their reflective quality. The new shiny cans are hard on the peppers because they can get way too hot for the plants. It is fine on a cold year when they need the heat. It is also nice on a cold year when the plants are really small to cut the bottom off a plastic milk jug and put that over the top as a mini green house.

Beans.

Beans.

My crazy bean plants are sending out runners to attach to something. I guess I planted something different from I usually do. The green zucchini is off to the left.

Cucumbers along the fence.

Cucumbers along the fence.

And finally, I will leave you with a couple of other pictures. I think they explain themselves.

First harvest of cherry tomatoes. I didn't realize that I had bought this color.

First harvest of cherry tomatoes. I didn’t realize that I had bought this color.

Here is what happens when your husband borrows your little bulb digger to scrape bricks.

Here is what happens when your husband borrows your little bulb digger to scrape bricks.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 10:36:26

    I’ve got my tomatoes in a raised bed, and a few in pots. But this is a great idea, especially since I am an unreliable waterer at best 😉

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

