Cats and birds in harmony??

“His eye is on the sparrow, and I know he’s watching me.” The pianist in church played a beautiful version of this song on Sunday morning as a prelude to the service. Oddly I had it in my head on Saturday as I was in the garden and noticing all the birds around. Thankfully our house cats are not bird eaters or killers, knock on wood. I don’t trust the strays in the area, so I won’t set out bird food, for fear that it will only help the cats have easy access to the birds.

Today while wandering in the yard doing a mental inventory of what needs doing, I noted some little birds that haven’t been around much, so I went inside and grabbed Paulina’s camera with the zoom lens. I tried, but I really didn’t get that close, so these pictures have been zoomed and cropped, and I hope you are able to see a little of what I saw.

Finch on the fence with robin behind.

Finch on the fence with robin behind.

Unknown reddish bird on the tree with train bridge in the distance.

Unknown reddish bird on the tree with train bridge in the distance.

Sophia walking on the bricks to the house.

Sophia walking on the bricks to the house.

Sophia responding to the harassment of the black birds in the area.

Sophia responding to the harassment of the black birds in the area.

It is really too windy again today to do much of anything outside. I would actually just enjoy curling up in a sleeping bag on the porch and reading a good book. There is something about summer that doesn’t allow me to read like that. I always feel that we need to be busy, busy, busy. It might be that old children’s story about the grasshopper and the ant. If I am not working, I feel like that worthless grasshopper who spent the whole summer doing nothing of importance them dying in the winter because he didn’t have any food stored up or a place prepared for shelter.

Well, catch you later with some information of whether I played lazy grasshopper or hard-working ant today.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda zimmermam
    Jul 01, 2014 @ 19:39:52

    July already and it’s sixty degrees! Why can’t January and February go as fast as June and July?? The lawns and gardens sure are beautiful, though!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jul 01, 2014 @ 20:49:05

      I am still waiting for the heat. Leslie posted about the weather on Facebook, and Kathy told her that it will get warm the day football and volleyball practice starts and super hot when school starts. Should be in class now.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

