Dead heading and other garden work

I had grand plans to work in all of the gardens today, but the wind is blowing so intensely that I couldn’t get myself outside after 1 p.m. The whistle blew for the fire trucks shortly before I went inside. It seemed that there must be some great fire, but it ended up being a call to an accident, and fortunately no one was badly injured. I do feel sort of like a truck hit me. It must have something to do with the air pressure. Maybe a hot bath would do me some good. It sounds like a plan when I get finished here. I ended up doing a bit of work mostly on the flower garden end. Below I am sharing a picture that I just happened to get of a bird sitting on the old corn cultivator.

Mourning dove on corn cultivator.

Mourning dove on corn cultivator.

I started with the most important thing which was the plum trees. We have the bug or blight or whatever it is problem again. Last year, I got the bad ones off the tree early, and must have gotten all of them, so there wasn’t much of an issue. This year, I am a bit behind the wagon, and so there were lots more to take off, and I fear the yield will suffer, though we will get plums from both trees for a change. Here is what I am talking about below.

Plum tree with some sort of bug in the plums.

Plum tree with some sort of bug in the plums.

After the plum trees were finished up, I decided to work on the peonies. I hate how they look when the wind is tossing them around and the grass is growing up the middle and the flowers are dying. Here is a before and after version of cleaning them up.

Peonies before.

Peonies before.

Peonies after. I even did the tulips in the foreground.

Peonies after. I even did the tulips in the foreground.

Here is some evidence of what the wind is doing today. It seems to be picking up as I type. I was up to the pool to bring Paulina a jacket during break and one of the roof panels on the pool house sounds like it is going to lift off or crash through. It made me jump. Paulina just laughed and said, “It always does that.”

Pots are dropping over, no use even standing them up anymore.

Pots are dropping over, no use even standing them up anymore.

Willow tree is losing branches.

Willow tree is losing branches.

Wind chimes in the closed corner are going big time today. Nice sound, but it means pretty windy.

Wind chimes in the closed corner are going big time today. Nice sound, but it means pretty windy.

Really should have finished the lilies, but I just didn't have the energy.

Really should have finished the lilies, but I just didn’t have the energy.

This chair has been calling my name, but I still haven't taken time to sit out there.

This chair has been calling my name, but I still haven’t taken time to sit out there.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

