Birthday of a sister

Today was the birthday of two of my sisters. Usually they celebrate together. This was only the second time in 40 years that I know they were apart. The other that I am aware of is the one 40 years ago when one was being born and the other was locked out of the local maternity ward because of the “no one under 16 may enter” policy.

The first time, I spent the day with the older one. I ended up taking care of the three orphans left at home with out mother or father because another sibling was coming, and today I went with the younger of the two.

Of course there may have been times when they were not together and I was not aware of it. I did spend four summers away from home during college, and then there were the years in Eagle Butte and Jamestown, so I can’t say that they had all those other birthdays together, but it does sound much more dramatic for the story, and we all know that if I didn’t make up some drama for the story, then there wouldn’t be any in the family. Nod, poke, wink!!

I will say that I was a nice older sister (17 at the time) and when I finished working at out grandmother’s café, I went home to make supper and bake a cake for Melissa so she could have a nice 7th birthday. I wonder if our parents gave her a gift besides a sister. I can’t say that I remember there being and present opening. I also don’t remember anyone else from the family being around. It seems like it was always me and those three.

I do remember going to the hospital to visit. In those days it was normal to keep the mother and baby for about five days. For some women it was the only vacation that had. Our mother worked at the local livestock sale barn. The sale was on Friday night. She came home from the sale knowing that labor had begun. She had a suitcase packed by the bedroom door when I got home from hanging out. She said they would likely be gone in the morning. Sure enough when I left the house to be at work by 6 a.m., they were gone. By 11 a.m., I had the call at the café that it was a girl.

Later that week, I took the three (Adam, Kathy and Melissa) to the rodeo in Mobridge. It was probably July 2nd because the rodeo is always on July 2, 3 and 4. It would have been the 29th Annual Sitting Bull Stampede. The first night is kids’ night, so they probably got in free and that was the big deal of it.

Anyway, Happy Birthday to both sisters. Hope we have many, many more years to decide if there will be together or apart or swimming or eating or inviting or not inviting or whatever. Today the entourage went to the Dakota Zoo. Yup the old, “going to the zoo, zoo, zoo, how about you, you, you? Joke of it all, the birthday girl went shopping while we were at the zoo. The only time we spent together was when we went out for supper at the new Mackenzie River place in Bismarck. Say that 10 times, fast!! Here are the photos. Jaxon was acting for the camera, as usual. Maybe he will do Hollywood since his mother wouldn’t.

Birthday girl eating her complimentary cake.

Birthday girl eating her complimentary cake.

The group of attendees minus me as I was taking the picture. Victoria and Paulina chose to be in the distance.

The group of attendees minus me as I was taking the picture. Victoria and Paulina chose to be in the distance.

Jaxon eating a lemon. We told him Paulina did that when she was little.

Jaxon eating a lemon. We told him Paulina did that when she was little.

Paulina, James, Kathy and Victoria at supper.

Paulina, James, Kathy and Victoria at supper.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

