Good weather for ducks…or smurfs

I am not even sure if ducks enjoy playing in the rain. I couldn’t find any out in the Spring Creek behind my house. There are sounds of Canadian Geese and ducks living there, but today nothing was out or about except a few pesky song birds, of which I am not sure the species name. As I went out looking for a few shots to put on the post today, I kept hearing a song in my head, “like walking in the rain and the snow with nowhere to go …” I had plenty of places to go and lots to do, but the rain kept saying come outside and take some pictures. Thankfully I did it while it was only drizzling. As I am sitting here and typing, I can hear plenty of water running off the roof. “Me and you and rain of the roof…” Only difference is I am sitting alone in my office haven, and everyone in the house thinks that I am busy writing up my message for tomorrow. If they only knew how much time I really spend doing that. Ha!!

Hope you enjoy the pictures and their stories below.

North view of Spring Creek, no birds around.

North view of Spring Creek, no birds around.

Closer view of that bend in the creek, still no birds.

Closer view of that bend in the creek, still no birds.

Looking south on the creek.

Looking south on the creek.

Some sort of song birds in the trees.

Some sort of song birds in the trees.

In all of these views, I am standing on the old train bridge. It has no tracks and isn’t used anymore, but still standing. I used to walk across it without a problem as a teenager, but it scares me to death now. It was not nearly as deep in those days in fact jumping off this bridge was a sure broken neck or leg, but now, it would be a sweep downstream. As I said, I sure hate walking out this way lately, especially when it is windy, however today, I had no problem walking off in a near run after I took that second picture below. It could be used in a creepy movie.

View into the water while standing on the bridge.

View into the water while standing on the bridge.

Deer carcass below my feet. Yikes!

Deer carcass below my feet. Yikes!

Paulina came home one day after taking some pictures at the creek and reported that there was a dead deer in the water. If I had not known that in advance, I might have freaked out about seeing this rib cage skeleton.

The back of the dike where Tigee hides out.

The back of the dike where Tigee hides out.

This dike view is to the east of our place just beyond the garden. This year would be a great time to cut it for hay. It seems that the rains this year are perfect for hay, but the problem is getting it cut and dried enough to put up.

On my way out to the creek, I stopped and took a few garden pictures. The pear trees are hanging in there, but I am not sure about the way these leaves look. I am also not seeing any new growth yet, which sort of makes me apprehensive about the expenditure. Oh well, live and learn. At least we tried. The peas below are hanging on the fence without me having to train them. I should put them on the south fence more often.

Pear trees, leaves still don't look so great.

Pear trees, leaves still don’t look so great.

Peas are beginning to climb the fence.

Peas are beginning to climb the fence.

Mushrooms in the grass.

Mushrooms in the grass.

The mushroom above is pretty typical of the grass this spring. I can’t even remember how many places I have noticed them, and I thought they only grew where there is something rotten hanging out. Makes me wonder who or what lives under them. Did I hear someone say Smurfs?

Smurf sort of weather.

Smurf sort of weather.

I embroiders this Smurf for James several years ago for Christmas. I may have another one someplace. I do have the pattern, shoot I should have made one for Adrienne. Oops, now it won’t be a surprise if I ever do one. Well, I won’t hold my breath, hope she doesn’t either. HA!

Puddle at the edge of the driveway.

Puddle at the edge of the driveway.

Mr. Robin was heading for my strawberry patch.

Mr. Robin was heading for my strawberry patch.

Robin kept hopping closer even when he saw me.

Robin kept hopping closer even when he saw me.

I just had to share this crazy robin. I couldn’t believe how it just kept looking at me as I was taking its picture. I suspect after checking the strawberries that it knew what was in the tires and was hoping I would leave so it could have the last un-pecked up strawberry. Yes, I did rescue one. I will have to figure out how to net that area so the birds can’t share the bounty. And finally I will leave you with the work I should be doing today, though the houses are clean, I am not walking back and forth in the mud to finish the laundry, as Scarlet said, “Tomorrow is another day.”

Rugs are getting a rewash on the line.

Rugs are getting a rewash on the line.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jun 29, 2014 @ 09:26:16

    Sounds like a lovely rainy world out there for you and the ducks, wherever they may be. We could use some more rain. As for carcasses, you put me in mind of a couple of walks my daughter and I took this week. Along the river we named one place “Carcass point” because of some dead carcass. We found another “Carcass Point” by the lake.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 22:09:10

    It was fine you reblogged. Hope they got to see it. I was surprised at all your photos today. Nice tour up the creek. Loved that robin, it is odd it was looking at you like that. The smurf is cute, I have not seen them in a long time.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

