Bye-bye Annabell

The hardest part about opening your home to a foreign exchange student is saying good-bye at the airport when they go home. OK, so I am not speaking from experience, but I know that is what happened to my sister and her husband this morning in Bismarck. Annabell came to the US last August from Germany. She was an absolute delight. There is no way to say what a wonderful experience is was to have her in the family, and I didn’t even get to be around her all that often.

IMG_1098

I did get to see a few of her volleyball and basketball games, and her school play. For some reason or another, I never saw any of her concerts, but I was at a track meet when she ran, and I was cheering for her. She was a star. She had no idea she could run, and ended up with 37 medals and two of them were at state.

Last night after the pool was clean and filling, Annabell and Adie went home to figure out what to eat. They were talking about grilling hot dogs, and that was fine with Annabell. Pretty soon, I had a text message asking if we would do a fire-pit. No problem. They came over along with Steve and then Kathy and Don and even Glenda came. It was great sitting and visiting all evening. It was a really fun time. It rained a bit. A beautiful rainbow, in fact a double rainbow came out.

Double rainbow.

Double rainbow.

Other end of the rainbow.

Other end of the rainbow.

The evening was great. We roasted hot dogs and marshmallows and talked about lots of things and laughed. Then it was time for them to leave and everyone hugged and some of us cried, and at 3 a.m. they all left for the airport. During the day Adie kept texting us about how Annabell was making it from one part of the journey to another.

I know that she will be so happy to be at home with her mother and father and little sister. When we asked what she is looking forward to the most, she said the bread. Apparently the bread here is too soft and doughy. They are used to a harder crispier crust on their bread. I can imagine that crust from reading and seeing it on different movies.

As we were saying our good-byes, I hugged her and wished her a safe trip and good times with her family. I wish I had thought to add a blessing to her. I guess I will just have to give it too her here. Bless you Annabell, bless you for all the joy you have brought to our lives. We wish you all the very, very best. We are happy that you are going home to your family and that you have a wonderful family. We just wish that it didn’t hurt so much to give you back.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 17:12:05

    What a lovely connection to make. It sounds like it has great potential to be a lasting one, too!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda zimmermam
    Jun 26, 2014 @ 05:47:52

    Annabell was truly a blessing! Hopefully, we will see her again. I can’t help but think about how happy her reunion with her family in Germany was. I do hope we left a long lasting and favorable impression on her and that she will come back and visit again. Lots of love to you, Annabell! We will miss you always!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

