Summer solstice has arrived

So this morning as I lay in bed between the world of sleep and awake, I heard the newscasters tell me that we gained five seconds of daytime today. Now I was thinking that we gain more like five minutes, but like I said, I was between sleep and wakefulness, so I could be way off base. At any rate whatever the time amount is, I spent mine in bed. I will use the rest of the day doing a few other jobs, besides when it is dark, I will probably come back to this room where I am currently sitting and try to put together a message for tomorrow.

It should be a light quick and easy message as everyone will want to run out and be in the sun, but for me it will be a difficult one. I am trying to give a report on the annual conference meeting and celebrate the 57th anniversary of our denomination at the same time. I have several notes put together already, but need to down load some of the firsts for our church. I know what I want to highlight, but I need to research to find proof. I know that we ordained the first woman, Antoinette Brown, the first African-American and the first gay clergy. Some of it will be embraced well, some of it will be a tip toe, but it is what it is. And, I better get to work rather than just sit here writing about getting to work.

Welcome sign with bird on the plant holder.

Welcome sign with bird on the plant holder.

In the meantime, I will leave you with some pictures of yesterday when James and I went to Bismarck. By the way, we did drop off the recycling materials, and only bought 50 percent of what was on our list. Each time I make those “to purchase” lists with all this hope and excitement, then I go to the store and see the price and figure out I can do just fine with something that I already have at home. Like we didn’t buy the three large round garbage cans because we had cardboard boxes that would work just fine. Instead we bought large garbage can liners for half of the cost of one can.

Van full of items to drop at recycling place.

Van full of items to drop at recycling place.

One thing that we skipped we may need to rethink. We didn’t buy the plastic edging that would divide the flower garden from the grass. The issue I find today is that the rain washes the soil into the grass and that is why the flower garden doesn’t stay at the same height as the concrete, and the purpose of the thing is to protect the edge of the concrete. It might be worth the cost of the edging to protect the larger investment. I guess sometimes you need to weigh the value of the cost.

Flower garden area around concrete to be filled in today, later.

Flower garden area around concrete to be filled in today, later.

Here are a few other pictures of work yet to do. It is rather warm outside today, so I am not sure if I am going to go after a tan and heat stroke by working outside, or wait until evening and take advantage of the longer day. Either way it will be a long day.

The garden needs another, better round of hoeing.

The garden needs another, better round of hoeing.

I am thinking of giving in and planting some more peas in this area on the fence line.

I am thinking of giving in and planting some more peas in this area on the fence line.

Both of the pictures above show that there is much to do and not much time to do it. Yikes, gardens are so much work, but I am drooling at the thought of the fresh produce. I don’t mind being a rabbit in the summer, now if I could just drop some pounds during the rabbitlike eating phase. I suppose it is the butter in the pan when I fry the fresh food that causes the problems. Here are a few more random pictures. Hope you all had a great Solstice!!

Can anyone tell me what this is???

Can anyone tell me what this is??

James was busy relaying these bricks this morning.

James was busy relaying these bricks this morning.

Tomato plants anyone. I sure wish they had a home.

Tomato plants anyone. I sure wish they had a home.

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

