Rhubarb cake and new trinkets

Paulina made a rhubarb cake when she got home from the pool at five. I was going to do it, but we were not finished with the garage yet. I probably posted this before, but here it is again.

 

Rhubarb cake ready for the oven.

Rhubarb cake ready for the oven.

 

Recipe for rhubarb cake. This is found in the Herreid Centennial cookbook.

Recipe for rhubarb cake. This is found in the Herreid Centennial cookbook.

 
When I was in Eureka yesterday, I stopped at the thrift store and found a few items. I could not resist the owl for Paulina and the two bottles for the kitchen. Now just to figure what to put in them. I have also added a picture to show why I cannot run a flower shop. Ha!

Owl says: No one can be wise on an empty stomach. Not sure what the holes are for, though.

Owl says: No one can be wise on an empty stomach. Not sure what the holes are for, though.

Cute little containers.

Cute little containers.

Peony and daisies, pathetic effort at a flower arrangement. They do smell wonderful!

Peony and daisies, pathetic effort at a flower arrangement. They do smell wonderful!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda zimmermam
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 14:54:28

    Oh my goodness!! I don’t know how the word ghetto got in my last comment, but that was supposed to be THE porch! I am too tired from all my mowing today!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Glenda zimmermam
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 14:51:52

    I have a bottle just like your smaller one, and in use mine for vinegar. Your flowers are just beautiful and the cake was scrumptious. Coffee on ghetto porch last night was such a treat!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

