Journey through the Badlands of SD

Today was the end of our little trip. We decided that for the last of the touring we would go through the South Dakota Badlands. Little did we know that driving through that area takes about two hours if you do the stops for pictures. We did a few of the stops including the information center which is at the east entrance, or in our case, exit. It was worth the time and the entry fee. I would recommend it, but make sure you have water with you if it is hot, and be prepared for one or two bathroom breaks to be in modern versions of an outhouse. It is rustic. It is also rattle snake terrain so do NOT go off the path unless you are prepared to be extra careful. We were quite chicken and so stayed on the paths or in the van. I took 79 pictures and Paulina took many, many more with her 300 lens. I will share just a few of mine for now.

 

First view today. If you pull this picture in closer, you should see Mt. Goats.

First view today. If you pull this picture in closer, you should see Mt. Goats.

Goat right in the middle. This one was fun to watch.

Goat right in the middle. This one was fun to watch.

According to some of the information we picked up, it is baby season for the goats. I believe that Paulina has a picture of one of the kids, but I don’t have her camera tonight.

Panoramic view.

Panoramic view.

Goat at the side of the road. Most of them have collars.

Goat at the side of the road. Most of them have collars.

A view with more grasslands.

A view with more grasslands.

I will stop here with one final picture of Jaxon doing a bit of climbing. I said we did not go off the path, and I wasn’t telling a fib. This was part of the path at this point in the tour.

Jaxon playing Mt. Goat.

Jaxon playing Mt. Goat.

Coming home from a trip like this is always difficult. There is so much on your mind from what you have seen and done and experienced. The conference was so interesting in many ways. The Saturday night service was so moving and Sunday was just a great treat. The touring had its ups and downs, and finally the weather cooperated. I am always apprehensive when I come home from such an event, and I wasn’t disappointed on this one. We arrived to a little yard and other drama. I guess it wouldn’t be life it there wouldn’t be something or other going on. Well, I won’t think about it, no I surely will, but I won’t write about it until tomorrow, since, “Tomorrow is another day.”

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

