From the Flintstones to Mt. Rushmore to a nap…

This morning was not a super early day, but in the end, it was long enough for Jaxon. We left around 9 a.m. for Custer, SD to go to the Flintstone Village. It was more fun than I remembered, but not a total tourist trap. At $10 per adult with children under 5 free, it was fairly reasonable. There were no tickets and no stamps or anything of the like. I was given a receipt when I paid and told we could ride the train and the Flintstone car as many times as we wanted. We could even leave and come back all day with the receipt. We toured the whole place and the only other charges were what we purchased at the gift shop and concessions at the movie theater, which played Flintstone cartoons all day. I could have stayed there for hours, but I didn’t bring a coat and it was a little cool.

We also went to the computerized character theater/concert. After that program the children were able to shake hands and poise with a real life Fred and Barney. The best I had was a picture with the fiberglass Wilma and Betty. There was also a playground with lots of slides and climbing places. After we finished, we ate at the little Drive Inn outside of the area. It was very reasonable, and I would recommend this as a place for any family. More pictures later. I am only using the ones I took with the little Cannon. Paulina took the other pictures and those are on the big Cannon.

I will start my pictures with the one Paulina took of James, Jaxon and me at Mt. Rushmore. I knew that place was different that when I was younger, but it is almost unsettling how different it looks. There used to be a really cool display of the 50 flags in alphabetical order as you walked up the lane to the area where you could see the faces. Now it is all modernized with a big parking ramp area and the lane is very short with four flags per post. There is also an area much closer to the actual faces with setting in an amphitheater area and a museum with all sorts of information about the actual carving. It is much more informative, but the rustic look is rather a thing of the past. After our stop there we had an ice cream and cotton candy break. I think we lost Jaxon at some point and picked up a Smurf. Look at the pictures and you will see what I mean.

James, me and Jaxon in front of Mt. Rushmore.

James, me and Jaxon in front of Mt. Rushmore.

See this child is turning into a Smurf.

See this child is turning into a Smurf.

The rest of the pictures will have to tell their own story with the captions that I add. Hope you have enjoyed at least this part of the tour with us.

No wonder the state slogan is Great Faces, Great Places.

No wonder the state slogan is Great Faces, Great Places.

James and Paulina beside the North Dakota state flag area. Jaxon was playing with an ant, and unable to join the photo opp.

James and Paulina beside the North Dakota state flag area. Jaxon was playing with an ant, and unable to join the photo opp.

Taking pictures on the train.

Taking pictures on the train.

The van is parked in front of the Drive In in the distance.

The van is parked in front of the Drive In in the distance.

A stop for pictures during the train ride. They have really expanded into a new area. Hmmm, wonder what the future holds?

A stop for pictures during the train ride. They have really expanded into a new area. Hmmm, wonder what the future holds?

Jaxon and Paulina in Fred's car.

Jaxon and Paulina in Fred’s car.

Jaxon beside Dino.

Jaxon beside Dino.

Inside of the Rubble house. I think it is.

Inside of the Rubble house. I think it is.

Jaxon and Fred with Grandpa near.

Jaxon and Fred with Grandpa near.

Here is a super economic lawn mower. I think KALM needs one.

Here is a super economic lawn mower. I think KALM needs one.

James and Jaxon on the top.

James and Jaxon on the top.

Mt. Rockmore.

Mt. Rockmore.

Beauty Shop, I should go there.

Beauty Shop, I should go there.

Motorcycle. James and  James and Jaxon on the motorcycle. jaxon

Motorcycle.

 

A view of a hill across from the Flintstone Village.

A view of a rocky hill across from the Flintstone Village.

A Smurf type mustache.

A Smurf type mustache.

Sharing a dish of ice cream with Grandpa.

Sharing a dish of ice cream with Grandpa.

 

 

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

