Will the weeding ever end?

It isn’t just the weeding and the mowing, it is also the planting, it seems like June is one continual garden fest. I suppose if we had smaller yards and weren’t such gardening freaks, it would be easier. My day actually started with cleaning out the rose plant at my mother’s house. Since I gave it to her a couple of years before she passed on, it is up to me to take care of it. I just wish it would bloom again. The one thing I didn’t get to today is spiking the trees. I might just pull that off yet tonight after I post this and finish the laundry. James and Paulina are sitting in Sterling waiting for Jessica to deliver Jaxon to them for the big trip tomorrow. Victoria sort of lucked out that today was the pickup day, and Jessica just happened to be in Glen Ullin at the North Dakota Farmers Union Camp, so she was able to stop in Hebron, have a chat and bring him to Sterling on her way back to Jamestown. Ya for things working out.

Lily garden is clean, and I found a home for the stepping stone Alvina gave me.

Lily garden is clean, and I found a home for the stepping stone Alvina gave me.

Daisy area has a start on weeding.

Daisy area has a start on weeding.

Lilies look better, iris area needs more work.

Lilies look better, iris area needs more work.

I decided to stay home to get a few things done. Right now, I should just sit my body in a tub of warm water and soak for an hour, but I took a quick shower instead and hopefully can get a few more things accomplished until they get home. When they left the yard, I was working in the front flower gardens. I cleaned enough weeds to fill the wheel barrel. It is fairly large too. I cleaned the lily garden and worked on the daisies and iris beds. They don’t look that great. I also went around the north side and cleaned out some old leaves and planted the hostas and some Dianthus left over from last year. I don’t think the Dianthus will amount to anything, but I tried.

North area before.

North area before.

North area after when the hostas are in place.

North area after when the hostas are in place.

Broken pruner.

Broken pruner.

 

Spirea that broke the pruner. It has been trimmed pretty well.

Spirea that broke the pruner. It has been trimmed pretty well.

Clematis is about to bloom. I just planted a few more tulips and two hyacinths in this area too.

Clematis is about to bloom. I just planted a few more tulips and two hyacinths in this area too. The strings holding the vine from this plant is cotton embroidery thread. It seems to be working.

I was trimming the bridal spirea when my pruner broke. I have also toasted out the gloves that my mother gave me a few years back. I suppose all things give out after enough use. I also finished putting cages on the tomatoes. I had no idea three had been forgotten. While in the vegetables, I replanted the dead pepper, and watered all the tomatoes and peppers by hand. Such fun, but I needed to empty the container in case it rains while we are gone.

Sophia heading for water.

Sophia heading for water.

Sophia at the pond, like a big cat checking for trouble when she heard a noise.

Sophia at the pond, like a big cat checking for trouble when she heard a noise.

I also couldn’t resist taking a few more pictures of the cats. This time it was all about Sophia, also known as Theodore. She is such a cat. She walks and acts just like a big cat, and I noticed that she brought me some food again. It is rotting on the upper deck, so we have to clean that up before we leave. Yuck! Now if they could just get here with Jaxon. Grandma is not very patient anymore.

Ya, the phone just rang. They are on the way. I better quit with the post and get a few more things ready. They should be here in about an hour.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lucindalines
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 23:45:36

    We hope to enjoy. This is the best we have gotten it so early, now it is up to the weather and such. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 16:31:20

    Your garden is very big and lush! As deliciousdaydreams says, no it doesn’t end – not til the first snow anyway. Enjoy it!

    Like

    Reply

  3. deliciousdaydreams
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:31:42

    What a pretty stone, and, no, the weeding never ends. *Sigh.*

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

