What’s up…in the garden?

Roger poses by the turtle planter.

Roger poses by the turtle planter.

It rained last night, but not before I got a small bed dug up and a little strip of soil turned, filled with compost, re-covered with dirt, then planted with spinach and lettuce. The planting did not happen until we were home from the softball game, and it was pitch dark. I am interested to see if there is a difference in how it grows.

Spinach and lettuce bed.

Spinach and lettuce bed.

Here is a look at what is up in the vegetable garden and a few other yard shots.

Radishes are up.

Radishes are up.

Tomatoes are in.

Tomatoes are in.

You can also see a few of the peppers off to the right. I found that one of them had been broken off during the planting, so as soon as it is dry, I will replace it with one of the left over seedlings.

Roger and I took a walk around the yard this morning with the iPad. I uploaded those shots, and now am finishing the post on an old-fashioned lap top. There is nothing like a good old keyboard. I suppose that is what the original tech-dinosaurs said about the manual typewriters. Ha!

Trees look good.

Trees look good.

We have to put in the fertilizer spikes as soon as I finish up here. Paulina is trying to make noise to wake Elisabeth and Carson, I say never wake a sleeping child no matter how old they are.

Blue flax blooms in the morning.

Blue flax blooms in the morning.

I love these blue flowers, but you do have to rise early to see them in bloom. There are a precious few of them growing in with the Shasta daisies. I think that is my favorite combination. If you pay attention, most of my flower choices are blue and white. When the colors stray, it is because Paulina has stuck her two cents opinion into the mix and thrown a packet of seeds into the cart without my knowledge.

We call this purple flower a wild lilac, have always wondered at the real name.

We call this purple flower a wild lilac, have always wondered at the real name.

This is back to the front of the house, and part of the work that I need to finish today. We are leaving for the Black Hills of South Dakota sometime tomorrow for about five or six days. We will be attending the South Dakota UCC Conference Annual Meeting and then doing a little site seeing. James and Paulina and Carson are going to New Salem tonight to pick up Jaxon as we are taking him along on the trip. It should be fun, we hope. Maybe in the future, we can make a whole family outing of one of those events. I am thinking big in terms of a National trip.

image

Roger checking out the little pond.

Roger checking out the little pond.

This crazy cat decided instead of being a photo bomb, she would just hog the camera completely and make the day all about her. I guess when you are as pretty as Roger, you can insist on being a cat model.

I tried to get a shot of the rabbit in Grandma’s yard, but it was too far away. The iPad just doesn’t get far shots. Next time it is out, I will have to grab Paulina’s big cannon and the 300 lens, I wonder if that will even be enough. If the mosquitoes wouldn’t be so bad, I would just sit in the grass waiting for it to come out of cover, though not much cover now with the mowing, sure looks nice!!

Bunny in the distance.

Bunny in the distance.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindaswildlifegarden
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 01:57:46

    Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Awesome and thank you for sharing have a blessed day

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

