Soft rains

This morning I woke to the sound of rain. It was a slow steady gentle rain. Later when I was returning from my mother’s house where I changed the laundry, it started raining more heavily, but still no wind or harsh, pelting drops. It is just what the garden seeds need to get a good start. The only negative is that you can almost watch the grass growing as you walk through it. image

image

The pictures above are to show how the water is setting in the drive way to my mother’s place. I guess we can see where we need to add a load of gravel. I have been wanting to do that for a while, but wish I could use any company other than the one in town. The owner is our neighbor to the north whose wife keeps mowing more and more on our side of the line. Last Sunday he shot and killed one of the little bunnies that lives in our lilac bushes. I should have encouraged someone to drop the dead body under their rhubarb leaves, but I didn’t really want to desecrate the bunny anymore than it was. He had thrown the body in the tall grass of the fence line to rot. Yuck, the smell would have been real nice for the wedding in two weeks.

Below are some pictures of what I see looking south this morning. I stood on the porch and took the pictures with my iPad mini, but had to go inside to the laptop to write the blog. Something about this process doesn’t like the mini for certain things like editing and checking comments. I think that we need a booster for our wireless.

Rain on the concrete.

Rain on the concrete.

 

The terra cotta animals enjoy the rain. I need to plant something in the frogs and ducks.

The terra-cotta animals enjoy the rain. I need to plant something in the frogs and ducks

Rain barrel is full again. We need to find a way to hook that to a hose or at least a second barrel.

Rain barrel is full again. We need to find a way to hook that to a hose or at least a second barrel.

Puddles at the end of the drive way.

Puddles at the end of the drive way.

The pond is filling naturally. I planted a water lily in there last night. Hope it grows soon.

The pond is filling naturally. I planted a water lily in there last night. Hope it grows soon.

The swans are sitting on the big pond. James was going to get that running today, but with the rain there will be a delay. I think we need a new pump.

The swans are sitting on the big pond. James was going to get that running today, but with the rain there will be a delay. I think we need a new pump.

I see the final picture above is not too clear. Oh, well, I think you get the idea of what it is. As for the pump, I am thinking that if I go to Bismarck a little earlier on Monday, I will be able to pick one up before I have to go to the airport to get the Aunty. For those of you wondering what all the blog activity has been about lately, I have mainly been trying to keep that snow bird abreast of the happenings at home. Our Aunt usually heads to Arizona with that “don’t bother me I am in Arizona” attitude, but with the blog I have been able to bother her. HA! On the other hand today’s post has also been about procrastination. James and Paulina think that I am working on my message, but I just can’t get motivated. I think that I will just have to do it and what ever it is, it is. Take care for now, and hope you stay out of the rain, cuz we really don’t want it to quit as it is badly needed.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 15:13:49

    Rain can be so delightful when the earth is starved for moisture, can’t it?

    Like

    Reply

  2. christinelaennec
    May 31, 2014 @ 13:01:49

    That gentle, soaking rain is a great blessing for a young garden. Well done you to have a rain barrel and two ponds!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

