More work in the front garden

Today should have been the day for planting the vegetable garden. I was home alone, and it was hot. I did the laundry from 7 a.m. to after 2 p.m. and I still have a couple of things not washed, like the jeans and the khaki pants. I was tired and the loads were too small. Later when I was working on the bulletin for Sunday, I heard the shop vac. going outside, and this is what I found James doing. He was cleaning out the small pond and getting it ready for this summer. It is the pond that the cats usually go to for a cool drink. I doesn’t have a pump, so we end up cleaning it quite often. I think we should put some plants and fish into it, but I am afraid it isn’t deep enough to stop the cats from grabbing a pole and having a little lunch.

Pond being filled.

Pond being filled.

I really need to purchase some bags of dirt and fill these flower beds with something decent. The youngest of my spirea bushes is doing quite well and looks like it will bloom lots this year. This bed needs a cleaning. On the last picture, you can see nothing but weeds. There is even an Ash tree growing there. I need to pull it out along with the unwanted Shasta daisies. There is a place for everything, and this is not the place for either of them. This is the garden for the Echinacea, and we would like to add another spirea bush.

The young spirea.

The young spirea bush.

Space invader in the little flower garden.

Space invader in the little flower garden.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    May 29, 2014 @ 14:01:38

    I really hate cleaning a pond! I got rid of mine because it was getting too hard to maintain for me. Fish need a pump and the cats would have a hearty lunch if you added the fish. Best to keep fish out for now.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

