Planting season begins

The line up to start potting.

The line up to start potting.

The turtle and the cat.

The turtle and the cat.

The stepping stone in the picture above is a gift from my sister-in-law for my installation. It is really pretty and I am not sure where I can put it so no one steps on it and cracks it. I am such a hoarder about things like that.

Gerbera Daisy. The centers are purple.

Gerbera Daisy. The centers are purple.

A pot with white petunias and blue lobelia.

A pot with white petunias and blue lobelia.

Paulina and I picked up these plants at the Food Center in Linton today. It was a beautiful night and I decided to get them into a pot right away. Normally I buy petunias and a few other plants then leave them in the cashed to dry up then I have to go out and buy another batch before I get them planted. Enough of that plan. I think I better run out and put the hanging baskets into the cashed because there might be frost again tonight and I don’t need them dying. I think the geranium in the turtle was zapped a bit last night. James thinks that one of the little chokecherry trees was hit and might not come back at all. I will cry as I have been taking care of them for about three years now.

James and Paulina working to get the fertilizer going.

James and Paulina working to get the fertilizer spreader going.

It was the best day of the year so far in terms of weather. None of the athletes even complained about practice, they all seemed ready to work, I was so excited. Perhaps we should have supper after practice every night. It wasn’t much, Paulina grilled the hot dogs and hamburgers. We got buns from the local bakery and bought a tray of individual chip bags, and Paulina baked cookies this morning. Kathy brought some scotcheroos, which everyone loved.

James getting ready to hand out the medals and stats to the athletes after they ate.

James getting ready to hand out the medals and stats to the athletes after they ate.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda zimmermam
    May 16, 2014 @ 18:57:31

    Everything looks so nice. Your prayers are helping because I am feeling “a little bit” better. It was in the triple digits today. I still haven’t been outside much. No swimming pool yet! It does cool off to the high sixties at night and believe me, that actually feels really cool. Talk to you tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

