Stuff of Saturday

Another Saturday at our house, or is it? Today we set the plants out again. Hopefully this time is a charm. We have done a bit of cleaning here and there. I need to go to my mother’s house and the other house we have to get those ready for the week coming up. We may have someone who wants to use them. Dishes to do in one house, beds to make in anther and general floor cleaning in all of them.

Kathy and Tiffany and her mother are working on mints for the wedding in June. Roger is getting the area ready for the door posts to go in to start making an isle. So much to do, and really so little time to do it. House and shed to paint and laws to prepare and on and on and on.

Back to right now part of life. I have counted the seedlings this morning and here is where it stands: Early Girls 27, Beefsteak 36, Colored Peppers 34, Peppers from old green seeds 5. I always expect the ones from last year’s plants to sprout less, but in terms of producing, sometimes they are the best. We will see how it works this year. Technically we should have planted the potatoes yesterday. There is some sort of saying about doing that on Good Friday. With the weather and ground temperature right now, I think we will wait a bit this year.

Seedlings waiting to be turned and recovered.

Seedlings waiting to be turned and recovered.

Early Girls up close, some a four leaf stage.

Early Girls up close, some a four leaf stage.

Below are some shots of other indoor plants that are take offs of the “mother” plants. I am amazed that I finally got an umbrella plant to take root. Now one more plant of which to have a plethora. I am practicing the grammar rule of not ending the sentence with a preposition.

Yellow kalanchoe about to bloom.

Yellow kalanchoe about to bloom.

Umbrella plant sprout is growing.

Umbrella plant sprout is growing.

A few more shots of the great outdoors are below. I actually walked to the compost bin myself today. I think doing that used to drive James crazy last winter. Little did he remember that the whole time we lived in Linton, I kept the compost in a special pail and carried them back to Herreid during my trips and emptied them. Oh well, we shouldn’t keep track of who does how much. ??

Cats were just fighting before I got this shot of them.

Cats were just fighting before I got this shot of them.

Well this is enough for now. It was/is still sort of a beautiful day, but the wind is starting to pick up and I need to finish this before Vic and Nate and Jaxon get here. HAPPY EASTER TO ALL!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Apr 19, 2014 @ 21:22:34

    OMG, you just reminded me I had put a plant outside for some sun and forgot it. Too cold here at night. Yipes. Don’t you just love Kalanchoe? It is like a rabbit in how many little ones it makes. Branches drop to the soil and just root themselves.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

