Seedling update

Seedlings coming in nicely.

Seedlings coming in nicely.

Roger the photobomber

Roger the photo bomber

Tomato close up.

Tomato close up.

Abandoned crafts

Abandoned crafts

Orchid ready to finish blooming.

Orchid ready to finish blooming.

It is Thursday and I need to be working on the message for Sunday, but I want to post this before I do anything else. The pictures above show you how far the little seedlings have come in a short time. With the way the temperature has been going up and down, I am not sort of glad that I didn’t have them in the ground in March. They will be plenty big enough by the time we have the garden ready in early June. I swear the growing season around here gets shorter each year. Oh by the way the new count is: peppers 26, Beefsteak 23 and Early Girls 21. Interesting how that flipped in a couple of days.

Last night after practice, I conned James into a quick trip to Bismarck. No one was happier for the outing than both of us. We have been depending on Paulina to bring us whatever we need from a bigger shopping area each week and haven’t been out and about for some time. I tried to pickup some seeds that I missed on the first go round, but no luck. I cannot find red cabbage seeds in the stores. I will have to try one more place before I go online to get them.

We have also been doing more grocery shopping closer to home, which is a good thing to do, but blue jeans is not something you can buy in any of the local stores let alone any other clothes. Anyway, I had a birthday coupon from a major clothing store and wanted to use it, the past two years it has expired. I found two shirts and a skirt that fit well and matched up with other items I have in the closet. Things were on a discount and after I pulled out the coupons and birthday prize, I got all three for less than what I would have paid for the skirt. I was so pumped.

The other fun thing for me in those stores is to look at how clothes are designed as of late. I now have a few ideas for redoing some old items. Hopefully with the season of Lent over and the chances to sub drying up, I can get to some of that work. Then again, the garden season will be gearing up and we will have houses to care for and clean and yards to mow and weed and, OK I am tired just thinking about it. I think that I will have to pencil in time to sit on the porch and chill out or maybe coffee up. By the way if any of the sisters or children in the group would like more of the cleaning $$ let me know. I will be more than happy to share that.

Speaking of sharing, anyone want to gather for a spring opening time. I think we could buy some pizza and open the checkbook a bit for the occasion. Just saying…text me. Sorry to the non family bloggers. It is sometimes hard to get these messages out and about. Ha!!

As always, I have a few pictures to share. Last night the moon was really red, but we didn’t get home in time to capture any real pictures of it. I have a couple of crazy shots that I took with Paulina’s canon and the 300 zoom lens. I must have had it on a delay setting because of the blur that came through. So, enough for now, I need to get to work before it is time to get ready for Maundy Thursday Services.

Over exposed setting.

Over exposed setting.

Original with standard setting.

Original with standard setting.

A view after a bit of editing.

Nearly same view after a bit of editing.

I moved when I shot this one.

I moved when I shot this one.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 07:31:01

    I need some help here if any want to come over! 😀 I see you to to see the Blood Moon. We had snow clouds that blocked it. It is so nice you start veggies from seed. I used to do it, but with such a small garden, I always had too many with nowhere to plant them.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Apr 18, 2014 @ 08:40:31

      I usually have left overs. I do it because I am so cheap. A packet of seeds costs less than buying the exact amount at a greenhouse. I also give away some that I don’t use. My family is finally getting used to taking them. As for your first sentence, I would love to come over and go on a bird walk. If only doing that would be as simple as hoping on the blog.

      Like

      Reply

  2. zaczarowaneogrody
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 12:01:09

    I also have tomato seedlings. So now we will wait for our own tomatoes.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

