Lovely Saturday

First my apologies to those I follow and read often. I have been so busy that I haven’t had a chance to just sit and read. I promise that reading blogs is at the top of my Monday to do list. I can’t right now as I need to write my sermon, and as you can see, I am busy posting this blog. It was a fairly nice day here, but the wind is picking up as I write. Hopefully next week, I will have my message well in hand before Saturday rolls around, and we will be able to sit on the porch or concrete and relax all day. I am thinking that Victoria, Nate and Jaxon will be here so that should be a good time.

Short update on the week we had. After installation on Sunday, I was a sub for one of James’ aides on Monday. I was supposed to go in each day, minus Wednesday, but it was just too much. On Tuesday I stayed home and got ready for Wednesday. I was able to get my message written and most of the bulletin ready. On Wednesday, I was up at 7 a.m. peeling and cubing the potatoes and carrots and chopping the purple cabbage for the soup. I packed up the van with all the necessities and left home after 10:30 a.m. I got to Eureka in time to unpack and stash everything in the fridge, turn up the heat, and put on a pot of water before it was time for Bible study. About 1 p.m. when that was finished, I went to the office to finish the bulletin and run it and fold it, also prepared the bulletin for Sunday and did a few odds and ends for council meeting after church. By 4 p.m. I started throwing the soup ingredients together. I should have started by 3, yikes! When Toni showed up, I ran to the store for buns so we could finish up the left over BBQ from Sunday. All went well with the meal, had service, James put the left over soup in containers and packed the car and washed the large roaster while we had council meeting.

Necklace James got me for my birthday. It has charms of an L, knitting needles, a cat, a grandma heart, and birthstones for the girls plus me and James.

Necklace James got me for my birthday. It has charms of an L, knitting needles, a cat, a grandma heart, and birthstones for the girls plus me and James.

The red thing is to hold the necklace and the other is what it came in.

The red thing is to hold the necklace and the other is what it came in.

Time out from the story to show off the necklace that came in the mail today. It is what James with Paulina’s help got me for my birthday. Can’t wait to wear it.

On Thursday, I was back in school and afterwards we hosted a track meet. Between updating the computer program and playing clerk it was a busy meet. It wouldn’t have been so bad, but when I went to prepare the data to send to the coaches on Friday morning, I somehow lost the thread for the program to find the saved information. I finally found it via a different search and was able to create a new thread for it. I know what caused the thread to break, but I was never able to reconnect the original. I am just not that computer savvy. By Friday night I was exhausted, and as much as I thought that I should work on the fund-raiser for the track team, it will have to be someone else who handles it. As Jaxon has been known to say, “I NOT!” I think that James and Nicole can get it done on Monday morning without a hitch.

Front of the house with all the little lights up.

Front of the house with all the little lights up.

Strawberries are coming back.

Strawberries are coming back.

Plants from the bathtub now outside.

Plants from the bathtub, now outside.

So, instead of working on my message this morning, I slept in and did laundry then because it was such a nice day, we took all of the outdoor plants back outside for the season. I just hope that we don’t have to drag them in tonight because of frost or snow. Paulina also helped me take out all of the “lights.” I am talking about all of the items that light up at night. This collection just keeps growing. I have some pictures of them below.

James changing the snow blower for the mower.

James changing the snow blower for the mower.

James decided to play with his toy tractor. He took off the snow blower, hope that isn’t a bad omen. He put on the mower and mowed the dike. He went fairly low to get all the dead grass out of there so new can come in. The last time I peaked outside the southern part was starting to green up already. It would be nice if someone could come and mow the windrow with a bagger and get that out of the area. I wish we had a bagger on our mower, but it just wasn’t affordable at the time, and now it is worse.

The mowed dike north side.

The mowed dike north side.

View from beside the shed.

View from beside the shed.

The rest of the pictures that I took today are as follows. It is still too wet to till, but maybe soon. With the wind this afternoon, it should not take long. Hopefully the inside plants will enjoy the fresh air they are getting outside. I never take the time to harden them off like I should. I figure if they survive, good, if not, well that is how it goes.

Rhubarb poking up.

Rhubarb poking up.

One tire of bulbs, nothing yet.

One tire of bulbs, nothing yet.

Second tire had a bulb dug out.

Second tire had a bulb dug out.

Tulips are poking through, too.

Tulips are poking through, too.

James posing with the peony cages.

James posing with the peony cages.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 13:04:04

    Your soup was delicious!!! I feel like Oliver Twist–May I have some more, please!!
    Your necklace is also really nice-they chose exactly the perfect charms to put in.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Apr 14, 2014 @ 14:03:50

      Hey lots of that soup left and even some of the cake, we have been so stuffed up with left overs around here that I am getting tired of the same old stuff, but not tired of the fact that we don’t have to cook. Ha!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 15:58:35

    Signs of Spring all around! Hoping we finally see the rest of our snow melt in the next week or so!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

