Out like a Lion!

Well, the in like a lamb and out like a lion is certainly hitting us today in both of the Dakotas. We woke this morning to a phone call saying there is no school in Linton. I got up and made coffee, no point trying to get any sleep after picking up the phone. My heart usually stops with calls that early. I didn’t even think of school when I picked up that phone. I was panicking that it had something to do with Victoria and Nate out on the road. Anyway, after a few phone calls later on, we learned that everyone is home safe and sound. So here is what it looks like outside of our doors and windows. It didn’t start here until after 9:30.

Through the upstairs window.

Through the upstairs window.

To the west out the bedroom door.

To the west out the bedroom door.

When I tried to snap the picture above, the wind tore the screen door from my hand, and I had to step into the snow with my socks to grab it back before it flopped around and was wrecked.

Looking at the area from one upper deck to the other.

Looking at the area from one upper deck to the other.

Out the east door, a look at the garden.

Out the east door, a look at the garden.

Having a day off is really a relief, but I can’t really get myself to the matter that I need to work on, and that is the program for the installation. I have started on the message for Wednesday night, but that is still two days off. I finished the Coaches test last night, and have the print out ready to turn in. Ya! I was not happy with some of the items they have on that program. They talk about Arousal vs Anxiety and how to work with that in terms of young people. Does anyone realize what they would say to you if you tried to discuss their arousal level with them? I think perhaps a little different vocabulary might be wise, like perhaps the word excitability level or something.

Anyway, my other beef for the day is that while BSC is shut down for the day, there are dorms of students there who don’t have classes today, but are stuck because of the weather, but there is no food service. I understand that the issue is getting the off campus cooks and other workers there through the storm, but seriously. You have a campus full of students, or at least partially full, and you are not feeding them. James and I both remember being stuck in similar manners at Northern State and Jamestown College, respectively, and neither of us were there without meals. Grrrrr! I guess, today I am just a typical modern parent who can’t tolerate it when something unpleasant happens to my child. Hopefully none of them ends up in an accident trying to get off campus to a fast food place. Oh, and the next wild thing. The aquatic center (indoor pool on campus) is open for business. They can’t eat, but they can go swimming. Go figure.

Well, if you are stuck in the blizzard, let me know what you are up to today, and do you have food?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 17:05:09

    I’ve seen snow in Scotland at the end of March many times (have even seen snow falling in MAY in Aberdeen). But here at least, the sun is so much stronger by March that it melts quickly. It looks a bit more serious than that where you are! I hope no-one has to be too hungry.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Mar 31, 2014 @ 18:45:10

      Well, as for the hunger, apparently they keep food in their rooms, but we are supposed to be at 50 by Sunday, so most of it will be gone by the end of the week. Right now the wind is still having its fun.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Melissa D
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 12:28:52

    I spent the entire day on Saturday working on the test. I then took the first aid part. In all it was a 10 hour day at the computer. Talk about being respectful of someone’s time. Why cover the same info twice? It was quite the class.

    I can’t tell what it looks like outside. My screens are full of snow that is sticking. I can’t know if off without making a mess inside.

    My cat is sitting it out in the garage looking out the open side door. She refuses to come inside. She is very sick of being trapped indoors.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

