The snows are coming, the snows are coming!

Wow! I so wish that I could send you the sound. It is loud outside of my room right now. It is loud with the honking of the geese. To me the sound is sort of a cross between honking and barking, but at this time of year it is THE most beautiful sound that could be in our area. An avid hunter told my husband today that the Canadian geese come anytime, and often get caught in snow storms, but the snows are pretty good indicators of the weather being really time for spring. Now snow is forecast for tonight, so I am not sure how this will turn out. I guess you will see the update tomorrow. Paulina took several pictures with her 300 lens, but I haven’t tried to grab them yet. She was rather upset with me for suggesting that she take care of her homework tonight so we can do housework tomorrow. Anyway, here is what I got with the little camera.

Snows.

Snows.

Snow over the trees.

Snow over the trees.

Snows over the house.

Snows over the house.

More snows coming.

More snows coming.

I have never seen this many birds at one time in my life and that is no joke. I have often seen lots on the ground together, but never that many in the air. We have a spring hunting season for snows, but I don’t suppose evening or night-time is when you are allowed to shoot. It almost seems like they are moving through now to get to nesting before the hunters can get out their guns. Just an amazing sight to see. I love the promise of spring that they bring.

As for spring, today, I put down some lawn seed patch because their was forecast of snow. I have had very good past experience with seeding just before a snowfall. It seems to sprout better, something about nitrogen in the snow according to my brother. I set all of the large empty planters outside in their places to clean out the garage a bit. James moved the little tractor with the snow blower to the large shop to get the tiller put on when all is dry.

I spent quite a bit of time outside absorbing some sunshine to get some real vitamin D. I even walked downtown twice. I also found out what the funky yardsticks are at every corner in town. Apparently the county decided we needed to apply for a grant to get street signs. This was about a year ago. The city signed off on it thinking that they would be replacing any bad stop signs or such. Ha! Now we are getting yield signs on every corner, and I will need to stop like three times on the way to the mail. I know this doesn’t sound like much, but we are a town that is 6 blocks long, do we really need to waste money on yield signs. Just goes to show there is no free lunch. Next time they want to apply for free money, I hope someone has the sense to ask what we are getting. Enough for now. Have a great Ides of March tomorrow.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Mar 19, 2014 @ 12:50:45

    Like anyone in our fair city is going to heed these signs!!! They barely stop at the STOP signs!! What a joke!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. lucindalines
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 22:51:12

    The best part of the yield signs is that we now have to stop before crossing the street into our yard, and the street in front of our house will continue to be the city race track, just saying. Hope none of the young children in the neighborhood step on the street without checking way down the block.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Adrienne Knoepfle Dupper
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 16:15:56

    R U kidding me about the Yield signs…..I’m gonna Blow at the board meeting tonight!!!

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 21:17:18

    Isn’t it awe-inspiring to experience nature like that?!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

