Spring is in the sky!

Second set of geese that flew overhead.

Second set of geese that flew overhead.

Just over the treetop.

Just over the treetop.

A view through the trees.

A view through the trees.

The geese, the Canadian geese flew north through Herreid today. It wasn’t just one random group as I initially thought. No, I heard (you always hear them first) then saw three different flocks up in the air. It was so refreshing. I almost missed getting them on camera as proof that they were here/hear would work in this case too, Ha! Luckily for me, I was braving the crisp air of the morning to have my coffee and toast on the porch. I have so very much that needs doing today, but this just had to be shared. The pictures aren’t the greatest, but they will just have to do. Hopefully I will catch some better shots on the way to Hazelton this afternoon when James and I go to the regional girls basketball tourney.

Close as I could get to the first set.

Close as I could get to the first set.

Another angle of the first geese heard this spring. It must be real.

Another angle of the first geese heard this spring. It must be real.

So for me the sound of the geese is the proof that spring is here. There is nothing like it here on the northern plains. If you read stories of frontier times, you learn that in the fall and spring the skies were black with their numbers. What a sight that must have been. There was concern a few years ago that their numbers were getting too high, and they were ruining crop land further north when they nested. I guess with all things you need a balance. I believe that their existence is good for conservation, especially in the era of no-till farming. They are the “poor” who pick up the gleanings after harvest to prevent sprouting in the spring of the wrong seeds. In that respect it is great when they clean up a field after fall harvest. I would imagine a little grain feeding also makes for a fatter and tastier goose, though from recopies that I have seen, goose is a rather tough bird.

Not much more to report at this time. I have a long list of to-do’s and I just answered a call from Hazelton. They need someone for third and fourth grade tomorrow. The teacher is heading to a funeral. I was actually quite glad to have the whole week off, but I just can’t quite say no when they call. Here is what I would like to do with the rest of my day. Probably won’t be happening. I need to get on the road by 2 p.m. to get to the basketball game on time, and stop at the tax place with another piece of information I dug up. I also need to call Pastor Keith in Mobridge and Mary Lou in Eureka. I need some advice on where to start with the Installation planning. It will be on Sunday, April 6 at 4 p.m. at the church in Eureka. Not much time to plan and Keith says the invitations should go out this week. Yikes, who do I invite and what should the invitations look like??? And the pictures below are what I would rather be doing.

Parches and Gardens magazine has so many great ideas on how to turn my porch into a real room.

Porches and Gardens magazine has so many great ideas on how to turn my porch into a real room.

Packets of seeds to be sorted and started for this garden season.

Packets of seeds to be sorted and started for this garden season.

Love the look of that basket. It could be for the Easter Bunny. It could hold a plant, which is how it came. Or, it could carry produce during harvest, which it does on occasion. Oh my I am hearing the fourth group of geese. I only took pictures of the first two. I wonder how many more will come through today. What are your signs of spring? Or, for those of you south of THE line, what are your signs of fall?

Paulina just called, she made it to school and is heading to class. Such a relief when you know they are off the road.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 17:27:09

    What a great post. The crocuses and tete-a-tetes are wonderful signs of spring in Scotland. There are migrating birds, such as willow warblers, too.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Mar 13, 2014 @ 10:44:55

      Well my husband pointed out that the Canadian geese are usually first probably because they want their pick of nesting grounds. He said when the snow geese return, then we know it is spring. I keep hoping.

      Like

      Reply

  2. glenda zimmerman
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 08:57:33

    Robins!! We need to see robins. But as so often times happens, a spring snow storm usually accompanies the robins and that is one thing that we don’t need. Moisture in the form of rain, yes, snow,no!!!!! Happy Spring!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

