Happy Golden Birthday, Paulina

So today is Paulina’s, my baby of the family child’s, Golden Birthday. I suppose the older, or at least the oldest child is thinking that the Golden child has finally reached her Golden birthday. To be honest when I was growing up, I didn’t even know what a Golden Birthday was or that there was such a thing. Of course when you are born on the tenth, it sort of makes that hard to fathom. On the other hand, my lack of knowing might have been because my mother was a Leap Year baby and so she would never have experienced a Golden Birthday, thus…well you get the picture.

On Monday (Presidents Day, so no public colleges in session) when Paulina packed up to leave, I reminded her that Tuesday would be her last day as a young 18-year-old. Today starts the last year of her teenage time. Scary, but Hurrah for that. The last thing I would ever want to return to is the days of being a teenager. Easy for me to say from the perspective of 50+ years. Well enough of that and on to the pictures to post for her big day.

Oh by the way, we will be there for supper tonight. I realize that Victoria and Nate and Jaxon have probably already contacted you for hang out time. I home that you have your homework finished for tomorrow because when I get there, we need to hit the mall. I still need to find something to give you as a tangible gift. I should just tell you my being there is gift enough, your sisters missed that since we were in middle of some school year in Mobridge or Pollock or something when they hit their years.

Anyway, here is Paulina from baby to last year, the short version. Sorry that some of the pictures aren’t the best quality. If I would just learn how to scan it would help, but I am not sure that I could take some of these out of the frames anyway. You get the idea anyway.

It snowed when you were born, but Noreen and Curt brought Grandma and Grandpa Haak to see you. So glad we have these shots of them with you.

It snowed when you were born, but Noreen and Curt brought Grandma and Grandpa Haak to see you. So glad we have these shots of them with you.

You were about three months here.

You were about three months here.

Storybook Land in Aberdeen was always are spot for family time.

Storybook Land in Aberdeen was always are spot for family time.

You were a Pooh girl from day one.

You were a Pooh girl from day one.

Victoria trying to get Paulina into day care so we could get to school.

Victoria trying to get Paulina into day care so we could get to school.

 

Taken before she was in kindergarten, one of my favorite pictures of her. That smile is still the same, a gritting of the teeth.

Taken before she was in kindergarten, one of my favorite pictures of her. That smile is still the same, a gritting of the teeth.

This is a good depiction of the turn our lives took, always together. It was a "I have your back" sort of time for us.

This is a good depiction of the turn our lives took, always together. It was a “I have your back” sort of time for us.

The end of the school days.

The end of the school days.

Hope you have/had/will have a great day. Can’t wait to get there!! Love you always, MOM!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. gzimmerman
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 14:17:47

    Happy Birthday, Paulina!! From your favorite great aunt!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

