Valentines Cookies

Rolled Sugar Cookies from a Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook that I purchased when I was first married. The copyright on the book is 1975 and was part of a book club set that I now wish I had kept buying until it ran out, but that is what happens when you are a cheap as I am.

One of my go to cookie books.

One of my go to cookie books.

Here is the doubled version that I used today.
1 cup of softened butter. I used the unsalted and oooh was that a good idea.
2 cups of white sugar
Mix the two above then add the three below.
2 eggs, 1/2 cup of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla.
Mix together the following then add it to the other ingredients.
4 1/2 cups flour and 4 teaspoons of baking powder. It also asks for 1 teaspoon of mace, but it is optional and I opt out of it.

Mixing butter, sugar and opps eggs too soon.

Mixing butter, sugar and opps eggs too soon.

Adding the vanilla and milk.

Adding the vanilla and milk.

Dough is ready to put in the fridge.

Dough is ready to put in the fridge.

I like to roll it on a mat with flour and a little sugar so it doesn't get too stiff.

I like to roll it on a mat with flour and a little sugar so it doesn’t get too stiff.

Cut out and ready to put on the baking sheet.

Cut out and ready to put on the baking sheet.

The last pan always has that little ball that is too small to be rolled and cut. It was delicious.

The last pan always has that little ball that is too small to be rolled and cut. It was delicious.

I mixed it and put it in the fridge for a couple of hours while I finished up some other work. With my three pan method, I could barely keep up once I started baking. I even had all three trays filled with cookies before I put the first one into the oven. It was fun, fast and pretty easy. The picture I should have taken was of the mess in the kitchen while I was working. I even had flour on the handles of the pot holder drawer. I wish that I could have finished the whole project in one day, but I need to get to the store for some creamed cheese for the frosting. Guess this won’t get posted until Wednesday, but that is how it goes.

The cookies with frosting or without at the Bible study.

The cookies with frosting or without at the Bible study.

This yellow kalanchoe was a prize at Bible Study. We will do this more and more.

This yellow kalanchoe was a prize at Bible Study. We will do this more and more.

I made the frosting before heading to Eureka, and frosted the cookies before Bible study. It all worked out pretty well. It was so cold that I decided not to hang out in the office for very long. I went to the Health Care Center and delivered the cookies. I should have attached notes from the church, but a nice lady who works there gave me some scratch paper to leave a, “sorry I missed you” note to leave with the cookies in the rooms where no one was around. There were three that I was able to visit and the others were out in the dining room having snacks and visiting. All in all it was a great time, as usual. Hope you enjoyed the cookies via picture.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 09:05:59

    Your cookies look delicious. Think I’ll come up and have coffee and cookies with you!! Maybe next Valentine’s Day, since I seem to be in school everyday!! Happy Valentine’s Day and think SPRING!!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 11:06:38

      Good to hear you are around and working. I was about to come and check why you didn’t answer your phone. I would deliver some cookies, but today I have a sore throat and you wouldn’t want to catch anything.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

