Another skirt finished.

I am not sure why I think this is such an accomplishment, but I finished off the grey skirt today. I laid it out last night and cut it out. This morning I worked on organizing the paperwork to take to the tax person for the sister business. I have to finish that tonight. I knew that my window of opportunity for sewing was when the sun was shining, so at about 1:30 I got right on that. I should not have been so surprised about how fast it went. Really isn’t anything much simpler the second time you do it. The big thing was no major mistakes that needed taking apart and redoing. The only off thing I did was trying to add a button to the top of the zipper. There is no waistband on this skirt, just a facing. You can’t put a button and button-hole in a facing. I realized that about the time I was sewing and had to stop, do a cut, and carry on as it was supposed to be. I don’t know why it is so hard for me to just accept a pattern and follow it.

My biggest boo-boo was when I was ironing. I sort of thought there were issues when I was ironing the hem, but I nearly burned a hole in the waistband when I was pressing the seam open. I did end up burning the facing a little, thankfully it didn’t come through to the outside of the skirt, so all is still good. The amazing thing is how fast the zipper went and well it fits. Now I plan to wash it then finish off the real hem. Right now I just rolled and machine stitched the edge to stop it from raveling.

Pattern on the material. Both the blue and gray skirts are with a moleskin material.

Pattern on the material. Both the blue and gray skirts are with a moleskin material.

Pieces all cut out. Nothing easier than four pieces.

Pieces all cut out. Nothing easier than four pieces.

I used a bit less interfacing. Really no need to cover the whole piece, or so I thought.

I used a bit less interfacing. Really no need to cover the whole piece, or so I thought.

Zipper in place. This was much easier than the last one, but still not really polished looking.

Zipper in place. This was easier than the last one, but still not really polished looking.

Front of skirt, you can see the threads that need clipping.

Front of skirt, you can see the threads that need clipping.

Back of skirt. It will be stretched much tighter when it is on, yikes.

Back of skirt. It will be stretched much tighter when it is on, yikes.

Again the cost of this project was less than $10. I guess it offsets the exorbitant price I paid for the sweater I plan to wear with it. I am also hoping to make a few more skirts with this pattern, but I am thinking that a summer version should be made of a more flowing material. Perhaps even a bit longer. I am not excited how the length of the blue skirt cuts off my already short legs. Anyway, happy sewing or crafting to you all.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinggrandma
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 20:37:12

    Wow; that is two in one week!! Way to go!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

