Blue skirt finished!

Here I am in my new skirt ready for church.

Here I am in my new skirt ready for church.

I am so, or shall I say, sew excited that I am finally finished with my skirt. I have been working on this for over a week. Wait, I believe that it was longer than that. If I remember correctly, I was in Bismarck on January 23 when I bought the material, and on Friday I cleaned everything so that we could get the longer table into the dining room so I could lay out the material and cut it. I believe that I laid it out on Friday night and cut it. Anyway the pictures show that I took them on Monday, which really means that I took them on Sunday because the setting in the camera is off by a day, I wish someone would figure that one out because I can’t.

Sunday was a day of no church. It was supposed to be the annual meeting, but it stormed. I spent the day worrying myself over people on the road. Paulina was with Victoria and Nate. They all made it where they needed to, so I decided to start the work on the skirt Monday. I don’t know what happened to the blogging except that I didn’t want to mention the skirt until it was finished, and Wednesday was a day in the church office and Thursday and Friday were the beginnings of my long hiatus of being a substitute science teacher.

The first day was the worst. I had a young man tell me that I was a B****** . I should have replied that he wasn’t the first to figure that out, but I just acted hurt. On the way home as I was telling Victoria about my day, it actually made me laugh. I think the other teachers were more upset than I was about the whole thing. The administration was so nice about it, and so apologetic that I couldn’t stay mad. What made me feel good, and sad at the same time was seeing how upset the other students were with the generally rude behavior of a slight few. Anyway, all over, done and after tomorrow, I will have another week to get to work on another skirt and hopefully the big robe for wearing to church. I sure hope that I can get that done by the end of February, at least that will be my goal. I want it for the Sunday before Ash Wednesday. In the meantime I have to get the KALM income taxes ready. Yikes I hope that doesn’t take too long. I have all of the papers in one spot, so it is just a matter of adding up a few figures.

One of the things that has been upsetting in this sewing process is the lack of lighting where the sewing machine is. I may have to find a better room for it, and install some real light when I do find it a permanent home. Oh well. Glad to be back to blogging. Tomorrow I plan to do some catching up with the reading. I am so far behind on other blogs that it makes me sad. Anyway, here is the skirt in pictures. I might have Paulina take a picture of me wearing it tomorrow, and add it to this post later. We shall see.

The skirt is finished.

The skirt is finished.

All cut out.

All cut out.

Can of zippers.

Can of zippers.

Choosing a zipper. I save old zippers, this is the first time I actually used one.

Choosing a zipper. I save old zippers, this is the first time I actually used one.

I settled on the black one because it matched the best.

I settled on the black one because it matched the best.

Sewing in the darts. I ended up redoing them because it wasn't tight enough. Good grief after all that work of making it big enough.

Sewing in the darts. I ended up redoing them because it wasn’t tight enough. Good grief after all that work of making it big enough.

Putting in the zipper.

Putting in the zipper.

Interfacing on the facing.

Interfacing on the facing.

I finally marked the stitching lines on my machine so I could see them better. I put down a tape then covered it after I marked it.

I finally marked the stitching lines on my machine so I could see them better. I put down a tape then covered it after I marked it.

Waistband time. I hate doing these.

Waistband time. I hate doing these.

Sewing the hem part one. OK so this is really my least favorite part.

Sewing the hem part one. OK so this is really my least favorite part.

All in all this was worth the effort. I now have a skirt to wear with my new sweater, and the whole thing was less than $10. Well, it probably was more in the long run, but out-of-pocket was $7.53 for the material and $3.00 for the pattern, which I plan to use on the gray skirt that is slated for this next week. The zipper was recycled and the thread, hook and eye and interfacing were things that I had on hand from other projects. I even have enough material left over that I was thinking of maybe stitching up a short shrug vest. I will have to see if that is really something I would wear. On the other hand, I could make a matching baby skirt for someone coming next summer. Might be pretty cool to come to church and match with grandma. Of course if baby is a boy, it would not be quite as cool, but we shall see.

Hope you are all staying warm and catch you later.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stitchinggrandma
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 08:48:11

    Congrats on the finish & on the darts. Isn’t it nice when something is a little “big” instead of way toooooo small !! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

