First of February

Today not much was accomplished. I haven’t been able to do any work on my blue skirt because I haven’t been home during the day time. The lighting in my bedroom where I decided to set up the sewing machine is so bad that I can only work in there in the day time when there is natural light. What a deal.

We decided to go to Linton and watch the regional wrestling tournament. In North Dakota they have two different regionals. This one was the duals where it matters how the team places. There are four regionals and the top two teams from each region go to state. Last year our team was second in the regional and also second in the state. Actually we were third in the region, but because we had not wrestled the team that earned second, we were able to challenge them and beat them to take their spot. This year the Linton team was third again, but chose not to make the challenge because there wasn’t much chance of winning, and also because there were some athletes with injuries, they decided to let the guys heal up for next week.

Next week is the regional tourney in which it is all about the individuals. In this tourney the top four place winners will go to state to try to win an individual title. We will be staying home from that event because it is in Lisbon. We might be about to get updates on the radio, but that will have to do.

After the tourney we came home and I fixed up the food items for the pot-luck after church tomorrow. I forgot to take pictures to share, but it is probably better that I did. I made the garlic bread yesterday. It was the same as what I put together last week, which was regular bread with garlic salt kneaded into the dough and baked on a cookie sheet rather than in a pan. After it was baked, I sliced it and buttered it then wrapped it in foil to warm in the oven just before eating.

Garlic bread in the foil.

Garlic bread in the foil.

I have a few pictures of the cinnamon raisin bread that I made last week. It was much the same process just different ingredients. We took one loaf and used it to make French toast. It was really good.

Dough as dropped out of the bread machine.

Dough as dropped out of the bread machine.

Kneading the cinnamon into the dough.

Kneading the cinnamon into the dough.

Adding the raisins.

Adding the raisins.

Loaves rolled and ready to bake.

Loaves rolled and ready to bake.

I also did up a home-made lasagna. I boiled the noodles just about half way. They were sticky, but pliable for placing in the pan. I decided to try something different and cut the noodles into 2×2 inch squares so it will be easier to cut apart.

I mixed the sauce with ground/browned hamburger and plenty of Italian seasoning. I started by layering the noodles, a spoonful of cottage cheese on each piece then I scooped the sauce on top until all was covered. I sprinkled the whole thing with mozzarella cheese and started the whole thing again. I did three layers of noodles, but on the top layer of noodles I put only grated cheese and sauce. It baked up well, and the noodles absorbed the sauce pretty well. Hopefully it has some good flavor.

I also made a batch of baked rice. Again I pre-boiled the rice, but not totally. When I took it off the stove, I drained it and rinsed it to remove the starch. I added raisins, sugar and cinnamon. I put in a few slivers of butter, but perhaps it would be best to leave that out. I topped it all off with half and half cream, and that got to be a bit high, so I wasn’t able to put the cover on the baking dish. I set the whole thing in the oven and let it bake up for about 30 minutes. It looked so rich when I took it out. I scooped out a bit so that James and Paulina could taste it for flavor. We added a little more sugar and put it back in the oven to bake a bit more. By the time we had it out and cooled, I was able to fit the cover just fine. Hopefully it all tastes fine tomorrow, and fortunately we take the vote before anyone finds out which food I brought. Ha!!

I will leave you with a few pictures of the indoor plants that look to bloom in the near future. Hopefully the sun keeps shining this month and the plants can finish their blooming soon.

The yellow kalancoe about to bloom.

The yellow kalancoe about to bloom.

Daffodil bulbs, or are these the hyacinths?

Daffodil bulbs, or are these the hyacinths?

The orchid is closer to blooming.

The orchid is closer to blooming.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 13:16:16

    LuCinda is the original Laura Ingalls Wilder!! She would have definitely survived on the prairie in the 1800’s!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 15:56:32

    Sometimes, when reading your blog, I think what an all-American life you have with church potlucks and sewing and baking and wrestling matches. I remember attending so many skating competitions and basketball and football games when the kids were around. Going to make some fish chowder very soon. Just must read a few more blog posts first.

    Like

    Reply

  3. NikkiM
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 04:16:24

    Hi LuCinada
    Funny how different we are, I prefer non glaring artivicial light, because it stays constant! Natural light moves and the shadows on the sewing machine changes and I find my seam allowance changes!
    Love
    Nikki

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 14:43:37

      I would love a good artificial light, but the light in our bedroom is not what you should have when sewing. I think that I need to buy a decent lamp, if I could just quit being so cheap, but that is another problem. Ha! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

