Some sorting accomplished

I am so excited to share some of the sorting that is getting accomplished at our house. We have a functional office with two desks and a computer area with a working printer and a small book stand. I am even sitting here as I put together this post. The best thing is that the computer is finally at a height that doesn’t irritate my writs and my arms are able to lie flat and comfortably. Yipee! After a trip to the big city tomorrow where I hope to pick up two telephones that work  better than the old fashioned ones we are currently using, I should be able to even have a phone in here. If we get the window fixed on the door, it will really be a usable space. I am almost afraid to push myself into sewing some window coverings, but maybe that thought is what brings me to the other nearly functional spot.

My desk ready to work.

My desk ready to work.

Computer desk area with pictures of daughters.

Computer desk area with pictures of daughters.

Computer desk and work space.

Computer desk and work space.

 

This morning Paulina and I tackled the sewing center. I had been hoping for one of the bedrooms, but I am resigned to the idea that they need to be bedrooms. I came to that conclusion when I realized how ridiculous it is for me to try to do anything in a room without TV, other than use the computer that is. So, I cleared off the old library table of all desklike items. Next we cleaned up the floor, lots of dust bunnies around. Then we went to the basement and dug out the sewing cabinet.

The sewing cabinet beside the library table.

The sewing cabinet beside the library table.

Sewing area nearly ready to use.

Sewing area nearly ready to use.

 

I have had that cabinet almost as long as James and I are married. It was one of our very first purchases. We bought the machine and cabinet through the JC Penny’s catalog department in Mobridge, SD. The total cost was $300, with each item the machine and cabinet costing half. We have drug that thing from Eagle Butte, SD to Jamestown, ND and back here to Herreid. I cannot wait to start sorting those drawers on Saturday morning and start working on the fleece quilt again. It will be our first project to be finished in 2014. We hope, says Paulina.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 07:16:30

    So how long have you been married? We’ve been 35 years. Question, since I forget these things so easily. Paulina is your daughter, right? Does she live with you, or just nearby?

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Jan 12, 2014 @ 14:12:08

      We are heading for year 32 in August. Paulina is our youngest and is in college right now, so home every weekend since we didn’t have the let go ability to send her far away. She keeps us young.

      Like

      Reply

      • Kathy
        Jan 12, 2014 @ 14:13:45

        You may have to remind me of this another ten times. But just for right now I have it in my head. Paulina. In college. Home weekends. Keeping you young. 🙂

        Like

        Reply

  2. glenda zimmerman
    Jan 09, 2014 @ 16:15:42

    I think you need to come to my house and do some organizing in my bedrooms!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

