Happy Boxing Day…or the day after Christmas

So today is technically Boxing Day, though many in our area don’t even understand what that is. I read enough British classics in high school and since to understand it fairly well. One of my favorite stories is a book I own, but right now don’t even remember the title. I remember impressions and plots better than titles or authors, so sad on my part. It was a story about a poor servant girl, who refused the advances of the son of the house owner. Apparently he had a habit of having his way with any of the servants, and she ended up demoted or thrown out or something, I guess I don’t remember the plot all that well either.

It wasn’t a major popular book and was culled from the little local library, so I am sure no one else knows it either, and I have no idea how it got onto my radar this morning, but here it is and now I will have to go search it out to share it. I do remember lots of polishing and stories about how the servants lived in the basement, and how the family lost its status and the main character ended up with someone pretty good in the end. So move on.

Christmas was good. Actually it was very good and the only thing that could have made it better was if we would have had everyone together, yet on the other hand, we might have had people over load. All in all, a good time was had by all.

Here are some pictures of just a bit of what I received.

Peanuts gang Nativity set. Yeah, I love them.

Peanuts gang Nativity set. Yeah, I love them.

Father Christmas snow globe. So pretty!! Thanks Victoria.

Father Christmas snow globe. So pretty!! Thanks Victoria.

Snoopy snow cone maker from Paulina, I still have to set this up to use it. Maybe later today. I think this will be the item for New Year's Eve.

Snoopy snow cone maker from Paulina, I still have to set this up to use it. Maybe later today. I think this will be the item for New Year’s Eve.

Hand mixer from Jessica. This is a deluxe, and has already made great divinity, seen below.

Hand mixer from Jessica. This is a deluxe, and has already made great divinity, seen below.

Divinity, not quite as good as Grandma Lizzie, but in her honor.

Divinity, not quite as good as Grandma Lizzie, but in her honor.

Divinity recipe comes from my sister-in-law, Marilyn, who lost her father this weekend. He had a long and full life, but will be missed by his family and remembered as a very civic-minded member of his community.

Microwave divinity: 1. In a 2 qt. glass bowl mix 2 1/4 cups sugar, 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup light corn syrup with 1/4 tsp salt microwave on high, covered until boiling,5 minutes, or until you see it holding its shape. 6. Drop finished candy with spoon onto waxed paper. Paulina suggested that the next time, we crush peppermint candy or something and mix it into the final product. Hmmm!

Just a note: This is harder to write up than it is to make it. I was surprised again at how easy it is, except the clean up. Ha!!

This platter was filled with goodies. As you can see the pumpkin bars and zucchini bread came back home, not a big hit...so sad.

This platter was filled with goodies. As you can see the pumpkin bars and zucchini bread came back home, not a big hit…so sad.

My sister Adie gave all of us Tupperware containers, which is perfect since mine like that is not in very good condition and James and Paulina left it in Hebron. It will be good today to store all of those left overs. There were other gifts, but these were the ones I chose to mention. I, we, have enjoyed everything and are so thankful for family who shares and is able to share. Thanks to everyone, and stay warm. To everyone, have a great post-Christmas day as you get back to work or clean up from yesterday, or just lounge around in bit of well deserved rest. God Bless us, each and everyone!!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 19:30:37

    It is nearly impossible to recreate a grandmother’s recipe when they so rarely followed a recipe! Looks “divine” :-)!

    Like

    Reply

  2. stitchinggrandma
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 14:36:26

    LOVE the divinity. My grandmother used to put chopped walnuts in hers. Is it really that easy in the microwave???? I remember it just melting in my mouth like puffs of clouds.

    Like

    Reply

  3. callielee
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 14:03:34

    love the snowglobe!

    Like

    Reply

  4. jesshaak
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 13:54:50

    Glad you got good use out of the hand mixer, everyone else gives pretty fun gifts and I’m the boring practical gift giver. Good to FaceTime yesterday 🙂 Hope you had a great day!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

