Advent Day 23: From no power to Baking day

Paulina and I finally got some baking done today. Well, she did the mixing and all I did was pour the batter into the pans and watch it in the oven. I could have done a better job, but we have edible items and even some to give away. I am so very excited that all of the zucchini and one of the three pumpkins left from the summer is now off the shelf. The zucchini has been baked or packaged and frozen. The pumpkin is still cooling and waiting to be mashed and packaged. I think we will keep a bit out and bake up a pie tomorrow or Christmas morning. Sorry no pictures until we have the give away accomplished.

I also finished up what I can do of the family calendar for the daughters. I need to check on a few items that happened this year. I know that I have the wedding and the birth of the baby recorded some place, but I don’t have the birthday of the newest Haak family member. Loren was married last summer, and we need to get Tracy’s birthday for the big calendar. That will be James’ job for tomorrow.

Oh, nearly forgot the big news of the day was waking to no electricity. I normally wake about 5 a.m., but don’t get up and about. I grab the remote and put on the morning news to find out what is happening in the world. Mostly I end up dozing for a bit longer. Anyway, I woke about 6:30 to a dark television and wondered when I had turned it off. When it wouldn’t turn back on I knew something was wrong. When I looked outside to see if it was other houses or just ours, I realized just how cold it was outside. It was -27 here. It was still dark when I peeked outside, and with no electricity anywhere, it was really a silent night.

We were without power from 6:40 to 11 a.m. It went off briefly one more time when the last of the problems was being fixed. The first issue was major, and the last one was on one block inside town. The final fix was done by my sister’s husband. He works for the electric company, and he has the lovely job of going out in all the fun elements to fix the problems. Thank goodness we have people willing to do those things.

Anyway, today made us realize just how much we depend on electricity. I was pretty happy for the kerosene lamps that I have hanging in my bedroom. I picked them up at an auction sale several years ago and just couldn’t resist hanging them up on either side of my patio door. They are super handy at times like this. Well, enough for now. Pictures tomorrow.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 05:56:00

    Lucinda, wishing you and your family a very blessed Christmas. Minus 27 and no electricity, yikes! I’m glad you got it back. I hope you can really enjoy the holidays with some time out for yourself. love, and God bless, Christine

    Like

    Reply

  2. gardeningkiwi
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 01:26:49

    Merry Christmas Lucinda to you and your family. I hope that you have a wonderful festive season. God Bless you. Cheers Sarah : o )

    Like

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 20:37:50

    Truly a Prairie Christmas

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kat at travelgardeneat
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 20:24:37

    Had to smile with your comment — “I could have done better, but we have edible items and some to give away”. Precisely the philosophy that permeated this kitchen yesterday :-).

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

