Advent Day 9: Quit digging stuff out

Thankfully, I think that I have dug out the last box of organized Christmas items. I know there are two more boxes in the basement that are random. I will go through those later as in Wednesday. After I have it all dug out, I will make some decisions about a bit of purging. What my lovely daughters don’t get is going into a box of sell, donate or toss out. I am guessing the donate will happen next fall, but I would love, love, love to find it a home sooner. We will see how it goes.

In the meantime…I am going to share a few things here in pictures and stories…. The picture below is the sunshine of today. I stuck my arm out the door and took the shot without looking and here is what I got. I love how the rays are shooting out.

Sunshine today.

Sunshine today.

Today I dug out my angels. They haven’t been out of the box for about three years. I sort of feel bad for them. The saddest thing is that I cannot remember how some of them came to me. I especially and wondering about the one in the box and the green and blue ones. I am thinking that those belong to one of the daughters, but I am not sure which or who or any of that. If someone has a claim, I would enjoy knowing and reuniting. I decided not to group them all together in a display, instead I have scattered them around the house. Some of the pictures below will show you where they ended up.

My angels.

My angels.

Interestingly, I found the angels wrapped in the Christmas dish towels and tea towels and such. I was wondering where they went. I even have one that my Grandmother Freda gave me when I was in college. After she died I stopped using it and put it away. Funny how those grandmother things get to be treasures.

Stack of towels beside the angel Noreen gave all of us following Grandma Haak's passing.

Stack of towels beside the angel Noreen gave all of us following Grandma Haak’s passing.

Nativity display right side.

Nativity display right side.

Nativity display left side.

Nativity display left side.

Grandparents with angels display

Grandparents with angels display

And yes, I promised to tell about the stockings. Well those three beautiful stockings were made by my Aunt Glenda. She makes them for the great nieces and nephews as the years go. They are so detailed and really nice. I don’t think that I have the patience for that sort of work, but it might be fun to try something like it one time. I have a tree skirt along that line someday I will have to drag it out and get it finished up.

Paulina's stocking

Paulina’s stocking

Jessica's stocking

Jessica’s stocking

Victoria's stocking

Victoria’s stocking

One of these years I might just let the last two take their stockings to their own home. Not sure when though. So two more pictures then enough for today. It is time for me to do some real work.

Lightbulb snowman

Lightbulb snowman

Whose pink angel is this????

Whose pink angel is this????

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 13:37:22

    Those stockings have held up pretty well throughout these years. I couldn’t even remember which ones I made for who? whom? Thanks for sharing them. I think I have made 18 of them. Working on another one right now. Does that mean there’s a new great niece or nephew in the future??

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

