Advent Day 7: More decorating

My Father Christmas quartet

My Father Christmas quartet

 

A tree Paulina made at a family fun night. I guess I cut off the star.

A tree Paulina made at a family fun night. I guess I cut off the star.

The tree before it was decorated. On Day 9, I will tell you about those stockings.

The tree before it was decorated. On Day 9, I will tell you about those stockings.

 

Saturday we worked on a little more decorating. James set up the tree and together we did the lights. Later he and I hung the ornaments. We were waiting for Paulina to help, but she never did come out of her room. She changed phones on Friday. It is the same type of phone, but a new one since the switch on hers was broken. It seems that every where we turn there is another box of decorations. I need to down size some of the “collections” that I have. There is a Nativity collections, which I like. There is a very small Father Christmas collection which I wish would be bigger. Along with that one is a Santa collection which is more than I need. Then I sort of acquired a few angels that I really like, but probably wouldn’t have gone out and chosen on my own. Of all things, that is probably my prettiest collection, but least displayed. Then there is this overdone snowmen collection. This is the one that just happened by accident. It seemed that every time we turned around either James or I ended up with a snowman. My favorite of all the collections is the snow globe collection. I have four large ones that are musical, and I think they are just the best. Those are the ones that I will actually spend a little on myself.

I see that I forgot to publish this or put an pictures on it. It appears that I should have quickly done this before I published my post for Day 8, but perhaps with the way things have been happening lately you might understand why I have 8 before 7 and days missing. I might have to decide to just be happy that I can still find my blog. I really feel a bit silly about blogging about decorating and preparing and such for Christmas when so many of the people whom I know personally and some that I follow in the blog world have other things, real issues of pain at this time. I think of the young family from our town, who will be attending the funeral of their baby who never had the chance to breathe a breath but passed on before it was even born. And the retired man in our church whose wife finally lost the fight with ALS and the family who is celebrating Christmas without their father because of a car accident. I need to stop because it is so sad, and I feel so selfish to be thinking about decorating. Though I guess our family has had our years and months and days, and you just survive until it is your turn, and if you believe is the truth of this season, you know that all of those who are gone, are only gone from us, and that when we finally make it to that day, we won’t have to fight the cold or the sore backs or the stiff arms or the broken hips, and on that day, we too will get to see our relatives who went on ahead and we can all join together in the garden.

So, before I get any more morbid. Here are some decorating pictures.

The breakable snowmen. The one on the far right has three different sayings when you push a button on his belly.

The breakable snowmen. The one on the far right has three different sayings when you push a button on his belly.

Roger peaking through the boards on the chair.

Roger peaking through the boards on the chair.

Roger was squinting because the sun was right in her eyes. Yes Roger is a she.

Roger was squinting because the sun was right in her eyes. Yes Roger is a she.

Tigee loves the blanket in front of the door.

Tigee loves the blanket in front of the door. She was really happy to see Paulina this weekend. Christmas break will be a real treat for her.

 

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

