Advent Day 3: It is snowing

The beginning of the snow early this morning.

The beginning of the snow early this morning.

Snow on the pea rock outside the house.

Snow on the pea rock outside the house.

More snow in the grass.

More snow in the grass.

By noon the front of the shop was getting a pile on the door ledge.

By noon the front of the shop was getting a pile on the door ledge.

Today, as you can see from the pictures above,  we woke to snow. It is the beginning of meteorological winter or so the weatherman said last night. I know we are in December, but I would be fine with a few more days without this white stuff all over the ground. We haven’t even gotten those big trees decorated yet. I have a feeling they might not get the lights until next year. By the way daughters or sisters or whomever might be listening, next year we are going to put all those lights on during a nice Saturday in October or November before Thanksgiving so there is no bailing out for the Black Friday thing. Be prepared it will be a full family event.

A couple of items to report on today. I am at home, so ended up doing a bit of cleaning for sister Kathy at her motel. Pictures below show the thermometer there, the cleaning cart, and a slip of a Christmas cactus that I found on the floor in her office. Hopefully I will have that growing soon, and she will have another plant by next year.

Temperature is about 22 degrees F.

Temperature is about 22 degrees F.

Laundry cart

Laundry cart

Christmas cactus slip

Christmas cactus slip

The other big thing is a sort of positive. I have been having a really hard time using my right arm lately. Finally someone mentioned tennis elbow, and I remembered the brace they gave me for that when I was on crutches. I put it on this morning and I have lots more function, Yeah! I was thinking that I am getting old and over the hill, but it could be a combination of the crutches issue as well as over use when I coached volleyball. Anyway, moving on, today it all feels much better.

If any of you are followers, you may remember the Advent calendar that I reblogged a couple of days ago. I am going to try to report my results with that blog. I don’t want this to be a braggy thing, but sometimes when I know that I have to write about something or report on it, I tend to follow it better.

Here goes. Day 1: I gave my daughter, Jessica a book the day she went back to Jamestown. It was a loan, but since I have already read it, I might not be looking to get it back. It is a little paperback, by Tom Brokaw titled, A Long Way from Home. He was born and raised in South Dakota before he became a big journalist and tv personality. We count him as one of our own. Day 2: It said hold a door for someone. I am not sure that I did that yesterday, but I did spend the day looking out for and following the fifth and sixth graders that were entrusted to me for the day. I cannot say how much joy I got from being with that group of children. Funny, but I can’t remember ever having that much joy with any class. I really wish all things wonderful for them. Day 3: Today is tell your family that you love them. Well today, I am telling this to my blog family which includes many of my blood family. This has been such a wonderful experience for the past two plus years. I just hope that it continues for many more.

Now the other thing that I am working on has to do with the 24 Days of Christmas book by Madeleine L’Engle. For today I am sharing a picture of the paper white that is blooming. It is a very tiny bloom, but still a bloom. One more white thing in this snowy white day. I am so glad that I don’t have to go outside anymore even though I should go tidy up the upstairs at my mother’s place, maybe tomorrow.

Paper white in bloom.

Paper white in bloom.

And though I have written more than I need to, I will leave you with a poem that I have always enjoyed. I took it from A Pocket Prayer Book published by The Upper Room recent copyright 1969. It was compiled by Ralph Spaulding Cushman.

The Secret

I met God in the morning
When the day was at its bet,
And His Presence came like sunrise,
Like a glory in my breast.

All day long the Presence lingered,
All day long He stayed with me,
And we sailed in perfect calmness
O’er a very troubled sea.

Other ships were blown and battered,
Other ships were sore distressed,
But the winds that seemed to drive them,
Brought to us a peace and rest.

Then I thought of other mornings,
With a keen remorse of mind,
When I too had loosed the moorings,
With the Presence left behind.

So, I think I know the secret,
Learned from many a troubled way:
You must seek Him in the morning
If you want Him through the day!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. glenda zimmerman
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:56:50

    The pictures are great. It almost makes winter look kinda fun!! Until you have to go out in it!! Love the plants!! You could grow a garden in the desert, I swear!!

    Like

    Reply

  2. pobept
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 19:22:03

    My Weather Guy said we are in for 3 or 4 days of ice storms starting Thursday Dec. 5. I hope he is wrong about all that Ice!!
    Happy holidays

    Like

    Reply

  3. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 19:20:04

    I think that photo with the little tree is so much like I picture your farm.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

