Advent Day 1 of 2013

Psalm 122: 1 “I was glad when they said to me, ‘Let us go to the house of the Lord!'” and from Romans 13: 11-14 “Besides this, you know what time it is, how it is now the moment for you to wake from sleep. For salvation is nearer to us now than when we became believers; the night is far gone, the day is near. Let us then lay aside the works of darkness and put on the armor of light; let us live honorably as in the day, not in revelling and drunkenness, not in debauchery and licentiousness, not in quarrelling and jealousy. Instead, put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to gratify its desires.” NRSV

It must be because I am back in our house with all of our Christmas stuff, or maybe it is because I know that I will be preaching through the month of December, at least those are the current plans, but this year, I am not missing out on Advent. December used to be such a fun month back in Jamestown when we had that great big house to decorate. It was an old parsonage that also served as a fellowship hall at one time. Or at least that was the story I was told. It was sold off and moved out of town and we were the third owners of it after the move. It was my dream house. Oh well, I have an attached garage and a bathroom in my bedroom so I need to keep telling myself life is better here.

I realize that I have just come off an every day post challenge, but this month is Advent and get ready for Christmas and so I plan to be posting just as much. My inspiration for this month is a book by Madeleine L ‘Engle, titled, The Twenty-Four Days Before Christmas. It is about the Austin family. In it the mother and children do something different each day of the month getting ready for Christmas. I may not go in their exact order, but I plan to do and post something interesting each day.

Here is the book. I just love this Christmas story.

Here is the book. I just love this Christmas story.

Page one

Page one

Today after James and I returned home from church and ate lunch, we decided to do a bit more digging out. I dug until I had the advent tree set up and all of the wreaths dug out. James had to do a little hot gluing to fix up a few, but they are all ready to hang and can be found around the house. All except one of these wreaths were homemade by me or Paulina. The two she did were made one year for Christmas with the intent of showing them in the 4-H Achievement days the following year. No ribbons were won because she dropped out that summer. They are still nice.

This grapevine wreath came from a mother in Montpelier. Every teacher received one because she was so happy with how her children were treated.

This grapevine wreath came from a mother in Montpelier. Every teacher received one because she was so happy with how her children were treated.

This is the first one I ever made.

This is the first one I ever made.

This should be redone. I made this with apple ornaments that I bought one of the first years we were married.

This should be redone. I made this with apple ornaments that I bought one of the first years we were married.

Yikes those two are side ways. I wonder how that happened.

Paulina got out the gold spray paint and went crazy with this one. The bow and blue ornaments are recycled from other things.

Paulina got out the gold spray paint and went crazy with this one. The bow and blue ornaments are recycled from other things.

I think that I made this the same year Paulina did hers. It is made with recycled pinecones and ornaments.

I think that I made this the same year Paulina did hers. It is made with recycled pinecones and ornaments.

My favorite one is the one Paulina made with lights. I finally found a place to hang it so I could get a picture with the lights on.

The wreath with lights.

The wreath with lights.

The items below are some old door pulls that I dug up with a few other ornaments. We used to have three, one for each girl. I am not sure where the Santa Claus went, but maybe it will show up, or hopefully it is with its real owner, not sure where that went.

Door pulls

Door pulls

I will leave you with a picture of the advent tree and the first ornament for this year. For this season and always, I wish for you blessings and God’s Grace.

Advent tree day 1, 2013

Advent tree day 1, 2013

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesshaak
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 21:03:52

    Oh how I remember that story, you have kept that book in great condition. I remember reading it as a kid. Wow how time flies. Also, Tony and I were looking at those wreaths and we would take one of those for Christmas or if you could make a “Packer’s wreath” Tony said would be a perfect Christmas present for him. I’m not sure how dad would feel about one of his daughter’s having a Packer’s wreath handing in their house. We had a great message in church today about Black Friday and “Worshipping Wal-Mart” maybe I’ll blog about it later, maybe I’ll just call you. Great post!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Dec 01, 2013 @ 21:10:23

      Thanks, and I really was hoping to dig those out when you were home. There are so many of those things that I would like to pass on while I am here to enjoy you enjoying them, if that makes sense, and I think a Packer’s wreath would be awesome. I am not sure that Dad get’s a vote since he is a Vikings fan and I prefer the Patriots big fan that I am.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

