Nov. 30, 2013: Let There Be Light

Our house in the early stages of putting up Christmas lights.

Our house in the early stages of putting up Christmas lights.

I really don’t have a better title for this post since I am going to wrap up several items all in one. First off, I will follow suit of my oldest daughter and mention a few things for which I am thankful. The top of that list has to be family. I will have to be selfish and say my immediate family of husband and daughters, but I hope you all know that as much as I care for you, I really feel the same about my whole family including my siblings and aunts and uncles as well as James’ extended family. And today certainly brought that all home for me in a big way.

Today we celebrated Thanksgiving, Christmas, Happy Birthday Noreen and Happy Anniversary John and Angie all rolled up into one day. It was great because so many members of the family made an effort to be there. It is hard to believe that James’ youngest sister is almost 50. His second oldest daughter is about to celebrate her 45th wedding anniversary, so it was pretty special. The other really special part was the fact that we were forced to celebrate in the Hull Christian Reformed Church. Though it isn’t the exact building (the original burned many years ago), it is the church that James’ mother’s grandfathers were instrumental in starting.

James with his siblings.

James with his siblings.

As we were all reciting The Lord’s Prayer before the start of the meal, I nearly choked up thinking of how she would have loved to see her family gathered there. Without saying names, I will give you the break down of the family, sort of for me just as much. There were 10 children, 5 boys and 5 girls. Oldest daughter: four children all married with grandchildren of (1b,1g)+(2b, 3g)+(2g)+(1b,1g); Second child:3 married sons, grandchildren (4b)+(2g)+(1b); third child: 2 sons not yet married; Fourth child passed away was married had three sons and one daughter, two oldest married, oldest has (2b), wife remarried all part of the family. Fifth child, five children-currently three married. grandchildren(1g, 2b)+0+0+(1g)+(2g, 1b); we are family six, 3 girls-one married with one grandson; #7 has one son, #8 has three children, oldest two married, oldest has (1b,1g); #9 has three children-two girls and one boy; #10 has six children of one boy and five girls. All in all this means a few more than the original couple or the original 10 children. Add 33 grandchildren and 30 great-grandchildren if I counted correctly. I have no idea on the in-laws, we are too hard to keep straight. Ha!

We also have been working on some Christmas decorating around the house. I finally found the items that were missing, but that is a tomorrow or Monday blog. I have a plan for that one. Anyway here are a few photos of what has been accomplished. James and Paulina had all the icicle lights ready and working. He put them on the porch and only half lite up. I promise that I am going through them on Tuesday to see what the problem is. I don’t want to ditch those lights. Oh yes, I forgot to mention that James is a bit of a Griswold, but hasn’t been able to decorate like that on the rental house. We may go a little overboard this year. Just a start is pictured below.

Projector light on Grandma's house. I have three other pictures to use and will change them as we get closer to Christmas.

Projector light on Grandma’s house. I have three other pictures to use and will change them as we get closer to Christmas.

The little tree by the shop.

The little tree by the shop.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesshaak
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 21:10:08

    I thought all of Louise’s kids were married? At least I remember being in most of their weddings, either as a gift bearer or punch server. HA! Anyway, I’m sorry I had to miss it, but so glad they got that photo. It will be one to treasure for years. I also started Christmas decorating, believe it or not, and even have some lights up around the house. I also have a great spot for the ice skating rink I forgot at your house. I’ll take pictures and I have to show you the great picture frame I found for the 4 generations picture.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Dec 01, 2013 @ 21:16:17

      Great!. Did I give you the Santa that is missing in the other blog picture? I sure hope you have it as I am wondering where I stashed things. Oh my you should see all the junk we have found as we are digging out boxes. Too many auction sales of buying all the Christmas stuff. We would have many things to give away for those who need decorations. You could get more than your house holds. Ha!!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Kathy
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 10:46:52

    We don’t put up Christmas lights around here, except for a tiny ceramic Christmas tree. Especially this year because we’re going to be with Barry’s parents and our son and daughter-in-law for Christmas. So I enjoyed reading and seeing some of the lights of the holiday over here on your blog, Lucinda.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

