Housework=exhaustion; It’s not the device, it’s the angle

I decided that today I need to get a few things done around this place so my daughters aren’t embarrassed when they come home for Thanksgiving. I realize there is another week before they arrive, but with the schedule I have coming up, it is a good idea that I finish as much as possible today, and…time out to clean cat puke. I swear. I am so glad that we don’t have carpet any place in this house. Every now and then Tigee gets sick. If it were more often or consistent, I would consider a trip to a vet, but it is so random. I guess when you are a cat and around 18 years old in real-time, not everything stays down all the time.

This morning started as a real gloomy day. The sky was solid clouds and it was really cold. I couldn’t help but think of the poem, Snowbound, by Whittier. “The sun that brief December day/Rose cheerless over hills of gray,/And, darkly circled, gave at noon/A sadder light than waning moon…” As of 2 p.m. some of the clouds have broken up enough to allow for real sunlight, though the temperature hasn’t gone up much. According to an internet source it is around 15 degrees F. here now. Brr is all I can say. Below are a couple of shots of the sun at 9 a.m.

Sun barely showing.

Sun barely showing.

Sun almost through the clouds.

Sun almost through the clouds.

A little idea of how windy it was this morning.

A little idea of how windy it was this morning.

As I write this, I remember what I was going to tell you today. It seems that this November is all about side tracking. Yesterday while the seniors were working on their math, I made myself a list of things I wanted accomplished by the end of the week. Ha! So far I have gotten to four of 3×15 if you count the blog post that I am currently doing. Wait, five, I didn’t count the bread baking. Yikes that was at least 10 minutes of work.

I have been spending most of the day in the bathroom trying to clean the counters and the tub surround. This wasn’t just a wipe down and go job today. It was a Mr. Clean Eraser I am going to get the soap scum out of my life job. That was after the clean out the sink drain which is the grossest thing we do at this house, and you have to remember we have three cats and three litter boxes. I still have to do the floor, but I am hoping that won’t be so bad..

I also, as usual, did a bit of rearranging. I can’t ever seem to clean and just leave things as they are. We have a stand in the bathroom that holds a radio/cd player/mp3 player/etc… I decided to clean out the drawer of the stand and put the cd’s in it. Really, it only makes sense. I cleared them out of the tv stand on Monday. I wasn’t sure why they were taking a shelf there when you couldn’t use them with the tv. It was a good idea to do the rearranging, now the remote for the tv and cable works just fine. Apparently the problem was the angle not the device. I wish all problems in life were that simple to solve. Wait, maybe they are.

Not much else to say, I guess I can go and get that floor cleaned, and I may just do something not on the list, also an as usual. I want to empty some more boxes setting around in my bedroom. You would think that I could have everything unpacked from June, but not so. There are boxes of videos that never were unpacked that I think I finally found a spot for them. While I am doing that, I should be able to catch up on some recorded shows. That will give me time to watch the state volleyball tournaments. Yes with an “s”. Both North and South Dakota have their tournaments going on right now. I can watch any of three in South Dakota through our cable, and the North Dakota ones are on internet. I should have my fill by the time it is over. Gee, just think, last year at this time, I was running around looking for a Laundromat. I am glad that I don’t have to do that this year.

I will leave you with some updates on the indoor plants, oh ya, I need to water them again. I think that will be the last of my “work” for the day. The rest will be complete list items that are more of the sit around jobs, like check email, order magazines on-line and read blogs. Catch you tomorrow, have a good one!!

PS. In case you saw that picture of my phone in its beat up orange case, forget about it, I dropped it one last time today, and though the phone is still ok, the case is no longer usable. Yikes!!

Paper whites are growing

Paper whites are growing

Baby spider

Baby spider

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 14:02:27

    I plan to spend a lot of my Saturday tomorrow cleaning in preparation for our delayed Thanksgiving meal the following weekend – so I was happy to read you’re doing similar things!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 18:11:45

    I am sort of glad that I don’t have to spend the big bucks to see the vb tournament in person. The Internet will be just fine for me too.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 21, 2013 @ 18:47:27

      Well is it on BEK for you. I found that the internet version I have is a pay to view. No wonder the activities association decided not to go with the regular broadcasting of the past. OK, after a phone conversation, I found the only way to watch it is to pay $9.00 per day. Not a high price, but seems a bit of a Grinch sort of thing for the High School Activities Association to do to the many elderly who might want to see a granddaughter playing. The senior citizens are the ones that often get left out by that sort of thing. Sad…

      Like

      Reply

  3. forestmtnhike
    Nov 21, 2013 @ 15:31:59

    lol I was actually looking for a spider. I enlarged your picture to get a closer look, and then I realized… you meant the plant! hahaha. I could just kick myself. That’s a beautiful baby spider plant you have growing there Lucinda.:) And I loved the pictures of the sun too.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 22, 2013 @ 08:43:44

      Thanks, I took that spider picture because it had changed so much after just a week on the table in the sun. I am trying to make up some new plants to give away for Christmas. It is one of the inexpensive little gifts that I can give to family and friends. Thanks for the comment, I laughed with you.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

