Wasted day

Oh my, I never thought that I would ever be at a loss for words, but here I am. Today we were supposed to go to Jamestown to help Jessica with some painting. Apparently she decided to ditch the parental help and did it herself. She called last night to say that she had the priming finished in one room and was nearly done with the other. She figured that between her and Tony, they could finish it by themselves today. Hurrah!! We did something right. Now, the only thing is that I was going to tell her she had to return the favor if I decided to paint next summer. Of course next summer, she will likely be in the midst of helping someone walk parade routes as they campaign. Her term continues until the election of 2016, so a bit of a breather.

Anyway, lucky for us that we didn’t have to go to Jamestown. James received a phone call from an old friend, Robin Vrooman last night. Robin’s son Joey plays for University of Mary and Robin was heading to watch and invited James to go along. He called a few minuets ago, and Joey’s team won, and they are going out for supper then heading back. He also dropped a few names of other players and coaches that he visited with after the game. Sometimes I am amazed at how many people he knows. Though at least one of the other players that he mentioned was on my track team in Mobridge.

We were really good friends with the Vroomans when we lived in Eagle Butte, SD, which now seems like a life time ago. Gayle wasn’t able to go along today because of other obligations, so it was a great day for James and Robin to catch up. They are old softball buddies and James has a few trophies and photos hanging on the wall from those days. I think I will try to share one here.

Old softball pictures.

Old softball pictures.

Not much else to report. I was happy to finally finish the sermon around 1 p.m. today. I spent most of the week didling around on it. I think if there is a next time, I will find a gazillion other things to do so that I feel the crunch and get to work. The less I have to do, the less I get accomplished, and the converse, so no more resting for me. Hope you have/had/will have a great day!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesshaak
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 19:15:17

    I am so glad that both you and dad managed to enjoy your day off. We did finish the living room area and as I type this Tony is working on the laundry room floor. I am very happy you weren’t offended that we got it all done. Thanks for offering and this summer I will be mid door knocking, parade walking, phone calling, but maybe coming home for the weekend would be a nice break! HA! Thanks much for offering to make the trip 🙂

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

