Why are first thougths suspicians?

Today, I realized that I really have a suspicious nature, and I don’t like it very much. I was cleaning at my mother’s house, and couldn’t find a particular set of sheets for the south bedroom. It is one of the few rooms that has three sets of sheets, so no one except me would even be looking for a particular set. Another thing that I am almost remiss to mention here is that cleaning business has starting to exacerbate my leanings towards a bit of compulsive behavior. The bedding has to be used on an exact bed in an exact order and this has to match that and so on and on and on.

I will allow, or perhaps blame it all on a genetic and learned behavior. Before she moved on, my mother was so upset about how she wanted her bedding that she took red nail polish and marked her mattress pad and fitted sheet at the bottom left corner with a large LC. It is crazy. In keeping with her lead, I have marked the tags of some of the new sheets with the direction of the room where they belong.

So, I was looking for these sheets, at least mentally. I have been trying to figure out where the pillow cases are for that set for a few washings, and so far no luck. Anyway, today as I was pondering where they might be, I had all sorts of thoughts of who might have made them disappear. Let me just say, no one was exempt from suspicion. Yikes.

After a bit more of thinking about it, I realized that I had been upset about the dresser in that room. There are only three of the six drawers that open easily. Of course one day last summer, I felt it was best to put the extra sheets in a drawer that is hard to open. Now as the weather has made my arthritis flair on occasion, I am having a hard time opening that drawer, so I put the clean sheets in an easy to open drawer last time I cleaned. It took me two pulls to find them and realize what a putz I am on occasion.

Enough of all that, I will drop in a few pictures to let you know that not all of life is about suspicions and arthritis, though the wind is really making my joints ache today. Just before I took this shot, James unwound all of the towels so they were hanging straight. I finally took them inside and put them in the dryer. It was nice, though to hang them out for a bit, sort of amazing for November in our area.

Towels on the line show how windy it is today.

Towels on the line show how windy it is today.

The paperwhites are growing.

The paperwhites are growing.

Sohpia is enjoying the day of going in and out.

Sohpia is enjoying the day of going in and out.

Geranium plant blooming inside.

Geranium plant blooming inside.

Well, we have located the Linton football game on the radio. It is the last playoff game before getting to the big State title game in Fargo this year. It is amazing that they have made it this far, but right now the team is down 6-0 and it is half time. Still anyone’s game, so I will leave now to be a radio cheerleader. Catch you later. Have a great weekend!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 10:57:41

    Beautiful images from the budding paperwhites to the laundry line. And I have plenty of clutter that I could do without!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 09:23:34

    I wish I could hang out laundry, I miss the smell it gives the room. Here it is a ordinance violation.

    Like

    Reply

  3. stitchinggrandma
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 19:44:17

    A trick I learned a while back was to put the full set, bottom sheet, top sheet, and all the pillow cases except one in a stack. Then take that stack and slide it into the last case, fold it’s flaps in nicely and put on the shelf (or the Easy to open drawer). That way, they are all stored together.

    I like the idea of storing the extra’s in the room in which they are to be used. Clever! Why clutter up the shelves in the linen closet in the hallway with things that are specific to a particular room. Efficient.!!

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 09, 2013 @ 19:49:50

      Thanks for the comment and for stopping by. Sadly the reason for the efficiency of storage is because the linen closet is still full of games that we haven’t sorted. Anyway, it does make my life easier.

      Like

      Reply

  4. Marlene
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 16:38:45

    You are hilarious! Thanks for a good Sunday morning read 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  5. forestmtnhike
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 15:16:08

    I love that picture with the towels on the line, Lucinda. It’s so refreshing. Exactly what I needed to see right now…it brought me home.:)

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

