Day 8: Second Friday in November

I am in school for the third day in a row, and I feel a bit useless today. I am filling in for a para-professional in my husband’s room, and right now we have a bit of a lull. Somehow my fingers don’t really want to work. I am relieved to have the sermon written and printed and in my bag. I am sure that by the time we reach the church in Eureka on Sunday, I will have all sorts of scribbles on it.

The reason the para is absent is rather sad. A young man, 44, and a friend were returning home to Strasburg from working in Bismarck, and they hit a semi-truck head on. The driver was killed and the passenger has a long road to recovery if all goes well. Stories are that the driver swerved to miss a deer. I am not sure how that was determined perhaps the semi driver knew, but considering the deer hit in our family last week, it is all very possible.

The accident brings back memories of a loss some years ago. One of Paulina’s Herreid classmates lost her father on that same highway, US 83, though in a different spot and for a different reason. In that accident there were no survivors, five died. Fatigue, not alcohol was the factor, and four families were changed in the blink of an eye.

Today is the opening of white tailed deer hunting in North Dakota. I sure hope that the hunters are successful, and that the herd is thinned a bit to leave less for hitting on the road. However, it is a good idea to keep a good lookout for any movement in the fields and ditches. Clear, moon lit nights are great times for them to move. When the temperature is just right, they love to be out and about. Dawn and dusk are especially dangerous times in terms of crossings. It is also good to pay attention to shelter or food on either side of the road.

Paulina and I used to have to be especially careful of a particular are south of Mound City when we traveled to and from Mobridge a few years ago. The deer herd in that area was anywhere from 50 to 200 head on a given day. There were large round bales of hay left in a field, and I would guess by the middle of the winter they were worthless because of the damage done by the deer. Wildlife is not good at eating something until it is gone. They are more likely to nibble here and there and use it for bedding or toilet are and on and on.

Brief update on the novel thing. I am now fairly sure that I won’t make the 50,000 deadline unless the final two weeks are 10,000 word days, but I guess. Right now I am stuck because I don’t like the problem. I won’t be changing the problem, because it sort of wrote itself into the space provided. Let me just say that I hate distressing conflicts. I don’t want anyone to die. I especially don’t want the animals to die. I hate it when people move away.

Well, the conflict in my story involves a death. In fact the second chapter is a funeral. I quit writing when they were walking out of service, following the caskets. I have in my head where I want to go from there, but I don’t want to deal with going there. ….I will start writing again tomorrow. Hope you have a great day!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda
    Nov 09, 2013 @ 12:29:08

    When I heard of the accident, all I could think about was— that could have been James. I feel so sad for the family involved. May God give them strength.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Nov 08, 2013 @ 17:00:39

    The problem with deer season, it drives deer out of their habitats and onto roads and highways. It is sad for the para.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

