Day six of too many challenges

Sunrise on Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

Sunrise on Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

This was the view from the backdoor this morning. I was hoping that the camera would capture it as I saw it. Sometimes Paulina’s big Cannon Rebel changes the color. I guess I should learn more about settings and such. This morning I grabbed her little Cannon Power Shot set to automatic, and this is what I got. The shape of the clouds made the sky look like it was on fire.

Logo

Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The view above is the same view that I saw every morning when I was in high school. The only difference is that when I was younger, on occasion there would be a train rumbling through the picture. When the Soo Line still went through town it literally shook my bed. Now I just look at the old train bed and remember when we used to walk along the tracks and imagine moving far away.

Back to reality, Today is Nov. 6, 2014. According to the calendar: I am supposed to be at almost 10,000 words by the end of the day. It is/was James’ mother’s birthday; she would have been 88, but she passed away in 1995. I am filling in for a FACS teacher today. It is currently study hall time, but it seems no one studies much. The day looks fairly doable, but one hour she has left a “Bingo” study game. I never did get how to do that. Hopefully the students can explain what they do. It looks like a pretty cooperative group, so I think it will be fine.

Yesterday, I worked on writing most of the afternoon. I don’t know how my mornings just seem to disappear into thin air when I am at home. I did get all the way to 3,530 words before I stopped. Yikes am I behind. When James and Kathy called to say they were on the way home, I started supper. We had chicken and rice. Before we ate, James and I went a little organization crazy.

I cleaned out the upper corner lazy Susan while he worked on the office bookshelf that we have in the dinning room. We put the bookshelf there when we moved back from Linton in place of the desk that was there before. It takes less room and now that it is clean, I am happy with it. James shredded some old papers, and I combined containers of baking supplies so that there was room in the cupboard. I have no picture of the bookshelf, yet, but I think the cupboard looks great.

Cleaned and organized lazy Susan.

Cleaned and organized lazy Susan.

I love using odd sized jars to hold things so they are easier to see. As I mentioned a few blogs ago, my sister-in-law recommends going through your pantry periodically so that you know exactly what you have. I now have a list of what I need to purchase before the holiday baking starts.

Paper whites starting to sprout.

Paper whites starting to sprout.

I finished the evening by planting a few bulbs in some indoor containers to force them for the holidays. These are the Paper whites that I bought in a fund raiser a few weeks ago. I plan to do some pictures to show the stages of these as they grow. I also planted yellow tulips and purple hyacinths. I sure hope they grow. Anyway, I need to get to the second hour class.

Hope you all have a good one.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 18:52:17

    The photo is nice. You might check if the camera has a sunset mode. It works for sunrises too. I don’t know how you can write with such focus. I can’t do that. How do you count the words, an app?

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 06, 2013 @ 20:45:28

      Word document counts the words as you write. I learned to discipline myself when I was an editor at a small newspaper. I actually did lots of the writing for the paper, plus I wrote a weekly article for almost ten years. This blog has become an extension of that article.

      Like

      Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

