Quick coleslaw

I wanted to publish a quick post today, and move on to the other contest. It seems that so many things are interfering with that process. I wish that I had found that contest and had thoughts about it a month ago. I didn’t have an outline. I didn’t have a plan. I keep getting stuck with things like: how many characters should be in the story, when do I describe the setting, and when do I take time to look up facts like what would gas cost in the time I am putting it?

I also would love to go back and change the plot line that I started. I am one who wants to read stories without real problems. I hate those books where someone is hurt physically or emotionally. I really hate stories where someone dies. It is so hard to deal with all of the pain. So what did I do, the first chapter out of the gate and I kill off a person in the story, and I haven’t even introduced them yet. Yikes how does that work?

Well, funny part is I really, really want to board myself up into my old room in the house where I lived during high school. I have a feeling that I could knock out this whole book in two days if I were in that room. I am just going to have to imagine myself there. Then maybe when the orphanage people leave, I can spend a few days there getting caught up. At least I did write a few words last night. So far I am at 2,117 words. a far cry from the 8,333 words that I am supposed to have by the end of the day. Oh well…Maybe tomorrow I will give you a little taste of what I am doing. On the other hand, maybe I will actually finish the sermon and print it off.

Well as much as I want to hang on her in blog world and forget about the real world, I need to get back to it.

Great new cook book.

Great new cook book.

The recipe is: medium cabbage shredded, 3 medium carrots shredded, 1 cup of mayonnaise, 1/3 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of cider vinegar. Mix it all together and put it in the refrigerator to marinate the flavors. It was very good. I also love the color with the purple cabbage. I think it would be even better with part purple and part green cabbage. I am thinking this will be one of my go to ideas for pot luck dishes in the future. I may even impose it on the family at Thanksgiving.

Shredding cabbage.

Shredding cabbage.

Shredded cabbage and carrots.

Shredded cabbage and carrots.

Finished coleslaw.

Finished coleslaw.

I can’t wait to use a few more of the recipes in that new book. I also am now more excited than ever to plant cabbage again next year. More cabbage and more carrots that is for sure!!

Here is to wishing you a happy, crunchy, tangy day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Belmont Rooster
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 20:46:32

    LOOKS GOOD! Good luck with your writing!

    Like

    Reply

  2. lucindalines
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 15:01:05

    Hope you enjoy it. I love this cook book. Everything is just 5 ingredients, and not such exotic items that you never have in the pantry. I really am looking forward to using it more, and I will be sure to share. Have a great day.

    Like

    Reply

  3. forestmtnhike
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 13:35:49

    Wow, that looks really good, and the recipe seems pretty easy. I’m going to give this one a try for dinner tonight. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

