It wasn’t on the list!!

Today I have/had and will have lots to do, but that doesn’t stop the others in my house from deciding what they want. It started with the fact that I was up late trying to get the 1,666.6 words on a word document to get in the allotment for my first day of the novel writing thing. I hit 1,700 something before I finally turned out the lights. I also knew that my mother’s house needed to be strip cleaned for a new group as quickly as possible. James said the guys left at 6 a.m., but I wasn’t quite awake at that time.

The people going into it are connected to one of the churches in town. Each fall this church sponsors a butchering for an orphanage in Arkansas. The farmers donate a pig or a steer to the cause, and they all gather to do the butchering, make the sausage, grind up the hamburger and such. It is like an old fashioned butchering that used to happen on many farms in our area. I remember those days at our place when I was young. The carcasses would hang from the loader on the tractor until they were ready to be taken to the basement and cut up and ground up. It used to gag me, but that is another story.

Anyway, my mother used to be a donor for this endeavor. She would order extra hamburger from her supplier and donate it to the cause. It was a very wise business investment besides being a cause she felt strongly about. Many of the church members repaid her by spending Sunday noon eating in her café and going to her when they had a wedding or an anniversary or other celebration that needed a caterer. Besides the group doing the butchering often ate in the café most of the week that they were working.

Now in our mother’s memory, my sisters and I allow the people who come from the orphanage to stay in my mother’s home during this week. Of course we are using it as a business donation, but it is also a way for us to honor our mother and carry on some of the work that she thought was important. I will be upfront about the business part of it because I so dislike people who carry on about the good works. I can’t stand a hypocrite, and so I will be open that it is two fold, but this is the choice we make because it is what our mother would do. Now, on to something more interesting, the title.

So the list contained: cleaning my mother’s house, cleaning MY house, doing laundry, baking bread, getting rid of the apples, and doing all the writing that I had signed up for. In hindsight, this was likely not the smartest thing I have done in some time. I have those sermons to do, and of all things, I still need to think about how I am going to get something made for this year’s Christmas gifts. Yes, sad to say children, you are probably getting something for Christmas that your mother made rather than the newest high tech device.

I wanted to buy each of my daughters an e-reader of some type, but after thinking about how things are going financially this year, perhaps it won’t be happening right now. Unless of course I win three of them in some magic drawing that I haven’t signed up for yet. I have threatened Jessica that I will be giving her a kitchen gadget. She really needs some kitchen toys to make her baking and cooking more fun. I for one am so excited that she has begun to participate in culinary practices. Not that I think women have to be in the kitchen, it is just that cooking and baking really is therapeutic for me, and I think everyone should have that sort of an outlet. Of course gardening and crafting do the same thing for me, but like I have said before, I am just weird that way.

So back to the list thing, James decided that today was the day to finish the yard work. So, he did have a point. It is absolutely beautiful outside today. In fact when we first opened the door, the birds were making such a racket in the trees behind the dike that the cats were scared to go outside. Later the geese started to appear in the sky, and I wish that I were more tech savvy because I should have put a video in this blog so you could hear them as well as view these pictures.

The geese are flying.

The geese are flying.

A view of the different hues of green in the grass based on sunshine or shade. Beautiful sunshine today.

A view of the different hues of green in the grass based on sunshine or shade. Beautiful sunshine today.

More geese, our area was said to be black with birds in the fall of the year when it was first homesteaded.

More geese, our area was said to be black with birds in the fall of the year when it was first homesteaded.

Well in the meantime, Paulina found a recipe for candied pumpkin seeds and decided that was the order of business for the day. She started by telling me she was going to carve one of the pumpkins. Ok, so I looked at her like really it is two days after Halloween. She finally confessed that she only wanted the seeds. Fine, we ended up peeling the rest of the pumpkin so we could cook it down. Tonight we will eat pumpkin mashed potatoes and hopefully find sometime to make a couple of pies with the rest of it. My niece is being confirmed tomorrow and like it or not, there might be pumpkin pie at the reception. Maybe I could find an old blachinda recipe and make some of them. (A German-Russian pumpkin tart that my Grandmother Freda used to make).

From perfectly happy decoration pumpkin...

From perfectly happy decoration pumpkin…

TO

Candied pumpkin seeds, not bad.

Candied pumpkin seeds, not bad.

And

Chunks of pumpkin waiting to be cooked...

Chunks of pumpkin waiting to be cooked…

TO

Pumpkin simmering on the stove waiting for the spices to make it pie filling.

Pumpkin simmering on the stove waiting for the spices to make it pie filling.

 

Sorry I was too lazy to flip that last picture. I didn’t take it that way, but sometimes the computer turns it when I post to the media file, not sure why. I really need a class in some of this technology stuff. Finally I will leave you today with what I did to half of my bread dough.

Clover buns

Clover buns

I was getting nostalgic remembering when my mom made bread when I was little and we still lived on the farm. She used to make her buns in three little balls and put them in cup cake tins. Those buns were better than her other ones. She had a way of making that crust so hard you could knock out sheet rock with it. Somehow after she bought the cafe and started making bread nearly daily, she figured out the trick to a softer crust. People used to love her bread, so today, Mom, I made them thinking of you. Hope you all had/have and will have a lovely fall day….

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 14:59:31

    Good luck with the novel! I am, as usual, in awe of your productivity. Do you ever sleep? I love the geese photos – I could “hear” them just looking at the pictures! My Granny used to bake the most delicious rolls, not unlike your clover rolls.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 15:53:43

      Thanks for the comment Christine. I really do get plenty of sleep, but my house work is a bit less than perfect. I sort of push items from one corner to another, and maybe someday, I will take time to do that too.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Kathy
    Nov 03, 2013 @ 12:09:03

    You are writing a novel AND a blog this long? You are one of those souls who loves to write, aren’t you? Good luck during this month. When I did it (novel and blog) it was crazy…but a fun kind of crazy.

    Like

    Reply

    • lucindalines
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 15:51:55

      Yes I am, and I am thinking that this will end up being a month when I am called to sub a lot. I guess that I wouldn’t mind if I were able to earn a little extra before Christmas shopping time.

      Like

      Reply

  3. forestmtnhike
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 17:27:38

    Those look great Lucinda, and by the way, thanks for the comment. Your advice was much appreciate and I’ll make sure to remember what you said. I decided to remove the post, though, it seemed a little odd on my blog. Thanks again.:)

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

