Still too much to do, but…

Jaxon watching movies on the way to Grand Forks.

Jaxon watching movies on the way to Grand Forks.

Tony, Jessica, Me and James after the event.

Tony, Jessica, Me and James after the event.

I was really hoping to get this blog post done today, but again not enough time. The real issue though was not having any power in the computer. There is an issue with the power cord, and we can’t seem to get it replaced. I think a new one is finally coming. For now James has borrowed one, so I am doing this late at night, so he can return it tomorrow.

I spent the day working for my sister at her motel. There were Parent Teacher Conferences today, so James and Kathy didn’t get home until 9 p.m. Talk about a long day. Usually Kathy does up her motel rooms when she gets home, but it wasn’t possible today. She had six rooms that needed complete cleaning, two of them were kitchenettes, plus one more room that just needed making up. There was also laundry to wash and for some reason the vacuum cleaner felt like I was trying to move a Sherman tank without an engine. I think my arthritis was on the fritz today.

When I finally finished there, I finished the laundry at my Mom’s house and cleaned that from the last renters. It was after 8 p.m. before I finally sat down to supper of left over vegetable soup and an Arby’s roast beef sandwich. I did take a break to have a pot of coffee with my aunt and tie up some corn stalks to do a little decorating for Halloween. At the end of the night, I even managed to peel a few apples and boil them down into another batch of apple sauce. I think I finally got the sugar ratio just right. Little Bear would be so proud. But that isn’t what I wanted to write about.

I wanted to talk about this weekend, though it is probably best explained in Jessica’s blog, And So It Goes. You can check it out by clicking on it in my list of blogs I follow. I still haven’t figured out this linking thing, even though I have had some wonderful directions. I need someone to sit beside me and show me before I can understand it.

Anyway, the very short version is that we went to Grand Forks via Jamestown to be with Jessica when she received an award. It was the Quinton Burdick dinner for the North Dakota Democratic NPL. Senator Burdick was a long time United States Senator from North Dakota, and each year they have a gathering in his honor. Two major awards were given, the first to a new person who has made a unique contribution to the party and the second for a life-time of contribution to the party. Neither award is reserved for an elected official. Jessica shared her award with a wonderful young woman, whom she really enjoys working with in the North Dakota House.

Let’s just say that James and I were very proud parents, and so happy that we were able to bring Paulina and Jaxon along on this trip. Victoria and Nate spent the weekend in Jamestown with friends and also watched Jessica’s little dog. Here are the rest of the pictures that I didn’t share yesterday.

Paulina and Jaxon at supper.

Paulina and Jaxon at supper.

Jessica receiving her award.

Jessica receiving her award.

Jess with some friends, the lady on the far right of the screen won the life-time award.

Jess with some friends, the lady on the far right of the screen won the life-time award.

Jessica with Jaxon.

Jessica with Jaxon.

Jessica and Kylee, the youngster award winners, with United State's Senator, Heidi Heidtkamp.

Jessica and Kylee, the youngster award winners, with United State’s Senator, Heidi Heitkamp.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Glenda
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 17:26:13

    Congratulations, Jessica!! Your grandma would be just ecstatic with joy and oh so proud. Oh my, what am I saying? She IS filled with joy and oh so proud!! Way to go, Jess! I really should have put this on YOUR blog, but, I know you’ll see it here, too.

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

