From morning snow to an evening with beets

I saved the largest beet for last.

I saved the largest beet for last.

Today was another of those long days of getting things done. I ended up going to Hazelton to fill in for the science teacher. It was quite interesting. She left a couple of issues of Science World for them to read and fill in questions. The Life Science class had the word Zombies on the front. The main story was about parasites and how they take over bodies of insects. It was gross and gory, and I see why they had it in an issue close to Halloween. Anyway, not supposed to be the topic of today, but I sort of got sidetracked.

On the way to Hazelton, I pulled over a few times to take some pictures. It snowed this morning, and I just had to share. It was raining in Herreid this morning, but no snow. Not so the farther north I got. So check it out below.

A sunflower field south of Strasburg.

A sunflower field south of Strasburg.

A small pond south of Strasburg.

A small pond south of Strasburg.

A closer view.

A closer view.

A cornfield south of Hazelton.

A cornfield south of Hazelton.

Evergreen trees on the edge of the cornfield.

Evergreen trees on the edge of the cornfield.

A small evergreen on the yard beside the HMB school.

A small evergreen on the yard beside the HMB school.

As you can see the harvest is not complete in our area. The sunflowers and the corn crops were drying up from lack of rain, but farmers wait for frost to harvest those crops here. As it would happen, we have had nothing but rain or now snow since the frost hit. Now no one can get into the fields to harvest, besides these crops need to be dry to cut them. It is a vicious circle. They will probably be out in January or February to get it in. By that time the birds will have done lots of damage to the sunflowers and the deer will have messed up the corn. I was amazed at the sound of the birds when I took the sunflower picture.

 

When we finally got home, James and I went to my mother’s place to clean up from the hunters. I thought cat hair was a mess. I am glad that we don’t have dogs in our house. Anyway, I finished that project a little after 10:30. I know the time because I saw the Jay Leno monologue as I was finishing up. There are three loads of laundry left to finish, rugs, dish towels and the leather couch cover. I guess those are jobs for the morning. Although it sounds like a major undertaking, I was not cleaning all night, just part of it. I took a little time for supper and such.

The such was the last of the beets. I wanted to leave them for tomorrow when we get back from Bismarck where James has to have his knee checked and the stitches removed. We will likely stop and see Paulina. She is asking for hot chocolate and a few other things. Anyway, some of the beets were just beginning to show signs of getting a bit rubbery, and they had to be done up before they were bad. At least I can say they are finished and cross that off the to-do list. In fact, we are down to a partial bag of apples to put up. The only other thing left to do with the garden is dig up the extra bed of potatoes, and James is pretty sure that needs to be done tomorrow and Thursday or they will stay in the ground until next spring, yikes would that be a mess. So this is all I am saying about anything. I will leave you with the last of the beets to view.

The final dicing.

The final dicing.

At the end of tonight, I had 9 quart bags, plus this gallon bag of beets. It is over for another year.

At the end of tonight, I had 9 quart bags, plus this gallon bag of beets. It is over for another year.

My sister Kathy and I exchanged a couple of text messages at the end of the night. She teaches full-time then comes home to take care of her hotel. With a full house of pheasant hunters, it has been pretty busy for her. She said that she was pretty tired tonight, and I echoed the feeling, but said how we should be glad this is all we were doing. When my mother was still alive and owned the local café, we were washing dishes and cleaning that up for the night on top of everything else. She had thought the same thing. Ah, but we were 10 years younger and stronger and more driven in those days. I will just be thankful for the work we have and the food in the freezer and the cupboards. Jessica told me she knows where to come when there is a Zombie Apocalypse. After reading the article in Science World today, I am almost convinced it could happen. Have a good one!!

I would love to hear from you, so go ahead, comment!

